How To Fly A Horse

How To Fly A Horse : The Secret History of Creation, Invention, and Discovery

4.03 (1,827 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

WINNER OF THE 800-CEO-READ BUSINESS BOOK OF THE YEAR 2015

In the vein of Susan Cain's QUIET and Malcolm Gladwell's DAVID AND GOLIATH, HOW TO FLY A HORSE is a smart, empowering book that dispels the myths around genius and creativity.

There is a myth about how something new comes to be; that geniuses have dramatic moments of insight where great things and thoughts are born whole. Symphonies are composed complete. Science is accomplished with eureka shrieks. Businesses are built by magic touch.

The myth is wrong. Anyone can create.

Acclaimed technology pioneer Kevin Ashton takes us behind the scenes of creation to reveal the true process of discovery and how 'new' comes to be. From Archimedes to Apple, from Kandinsky to the Coke can, from the Wright brothers - who set out to 'fly a horse' - to Woody Allen, he exposes the seemingly unremarkable individuals, gradual steps, multiple failures and countless ordinary and often uncredited acts that led to our most astounding breakthroughs.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 21mm | 234g
  • Windmill Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 9780099591771
  • 26,954

Review Text

An inspiring vision of creativity that’s littered with practical advice, and is a cracking read to boot.
show more

Review quote

Ashton is persuasive ... His well chosen examples reinforce the idea that there is no magic or myth to creation or discovery, making this an approachable, thought-provoking book that encourages everyone to be as good as they can be. * Observer * An inspiring vision of creativity that's littered with practical advice, and is a cracking read to boot. * BBC Focus * Many of these anecdotes are rather lovely - a chapter on the credit denied female scientists is fascinating * Daily Telegraph *
show more

About Kevin Ashton

Kevin Ashton began his career at Procter & Gamble, where he led pioneering work on RFID (radio-frequency identification), for which he coined the term the "Internet of Things." He went on to cofound the Auto-ID Center at MIT and led three successful start-ups in the field. His writing about innovation and technology has appeared in The New York Times, the Atlantic, Quartz, and Medium.
show more

Rating details

1,827 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 35% (647)
4 40% (724)
3 19% (347)
2 5% (85)
1 1% (24)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X