How Ali Ferguson Saved Houdini

How Ali Ferguson Saved Houdini

3.85 (26 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Ali Ferguson has just moved into Lever Tower with his mum. It's not long before he meets Caitlin and the Alsatian dog she looks after, Falcon, who doesn't take too kindly to being walked on a lead. Caitlin introduces Ali to her best friend, Gez, and together the three set out to discover, firstly, why the foxes have disappeared from the area, secondly, why the owls have appeared and, thirdly, why Miss Osborne has, it seems, vanished...And how exactly her disappearance is related to the previous two. With the help of his friends and, significantly, Caitlin's dad, Ali and his mum begin to feel comfortable and happy in their new life without Ali's dad.
show more

Product details

  • 7+
  • Paperback | 224 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 15mm | 162g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 140880574X
  • 9781408805749
  • 515,135

Review Text

Praise for How Kirsty Jenkins Stole the Elephant:

'Its ingenious ideas, humour and clear, unfussy style keep the pages turning speedily to the feel-good conclusion, which is moving without being mawkish' Sunday Times
show more

Review quote

Praise for How Kirsty Jenkins Stole the Elephant: 'Its ingenious ideas, humour and clear, unfussy style keep the pages turning speedily to the feel-good conclusion, which is moving without being mawkish' Sunday Times 'Creating novels that engage children and at the same time show how books can help them explore difficult questions about their own experience is perhaps the ideal of children's fiction, but it's a difficult balancing act ... Elen Caldecott has achieved this balance beautifully' Observer Praise for How Ali Ferguson Saved Houdini: 'What I particularly liked was the recognition and portrayal of children's rich and imaginary lives in the tradition of Nesbit and Ransome ... An enjoyable and page-turning read' School Librarian 'Kid-sleuth adventure set unflinchingly in contemporary Britain. The book manages to be fun and serious at the same time' Financial Times
show more

About Elen Caldecott

Elen Caldecott recently graduated with an MA in Writing for Young People from Bath Spa University. At the end of the course she was highly commended in the PFD Prize for Most Promising Writer for Young People. Before becoming a writer, she was an archaeologist, a nurse, a theatre usher and a museum security guard. It was while working at the museum that Elen realised there is a way to steal anything if you think about it hard enough. Elen either had to become a master thief, or create some characters to do it for her - and so her debut novel, How Kirsty Jenkins Stole the Elephant, was born. Kirsty Jenkins was also shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Prize Elen lives in Bristol with her husband, Simon, and, one day - when they live in a bigger flat - they will be joined by a dog.
show more

Rating details

26 ratings
3.85 out of 5 stars
5 15% (4)
4 58% (15)
3 23% (6)
2 4% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X