The House at Tyneford
31%
off

The House at Tyneford

3.78 (16,531 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Fans of Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden and TV's Downton Abbey will love this sweeping New York Times bestselling historical novel of love and loss. The start of an affair, the end of an era...

It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn. But war is coming, and the world is changing. When the master of Tyneford's young son, Kit, returns home, he and Elise strike up an unlikely friendship that will transform Tyneford--and Elise--forever.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 359 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 23mm | 272g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0452297648
  • 9780452297647
  • 140,090

Review Text

"Natasha Solomons has written a lovely, atmospheric novel full of charming characters and good, old fashioned storytelling. Fans of Downton Abbey and Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden will absolutely adore The House at Tyneford ."- Kristin Hannah , New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale

" The House at Tyneford is a wonderful, old-fashioned novel that takes you back in time to the manor homes, aristocracy and domestic servants of England. In this setting, Natasha Solomons gives us a courageous heroine whose incredible love story will keep you in suspense until the final page."- Kathleen Grissom , author of The Kitchen House

" The House at Tyneford is an exquisite tale of love, family, suspense, and survival. Capturing with astonishing detail and realism a vanished world of desire and hope trapped beneath rigid class convention, Natasha Solomons's stunning new novel tells the story of Elise Landau, a Jewish Austrian teenager from a family of artists, who is forced to flee her home in Vienna carrying only a guide to household management and her father's last novel, hidden on pages stuffed inside a viola. Elise hides as a parlor maid in a fine English country estate, but soon she discovers that passion can be found in the most unexpected places. Already a bestseller in Britain, American readers will thrill to The House at Tyneford ."- Katherine Howe , New York Times bestselling author of The House of Velvet and Glass

"Like Downton , this romance compellingly explores the upstairs-downstairs dynamic of estate life."- Entertainment Weekly

"Solomons's poignant tale provides richly textured details that hold the reader's interest. Fans of Ann Patchett will find Solomons's style similar and will appreciate how the subdued tone and the quiet of the countryside contrast with the roar of war."- Library Journal

"Halfway though, I was so invested in this gorgeously written story that I could barely read on, fearful that what I wished to happen would never come to pass. Permeated with an exquisite sadness, it reminded me of Atonement . . . I adored this book."- Donna Marchetti, The Cleveland Plain Dealer
show more

Review quote

Praise for The House at Tyneford "Natasha Solomons has written a lovely, atmospheric novel full of charming characters and good, old fashioned storytelling. Fans of Downton Abbey and Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden will absolutely adore The House at Tyneford."--Kristin Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale "The House at Tyneford is a wonderful, old-fashioned novel that takes you back in time to the manor homes, aristocracy and domestic servants of England. In this setting, Natasha Solomons gives us a courageous heroine whose incredible love story will keep you in suspense until the final page"--Kathleen Grissom, author of The Kitchen House "The House at Tyneford is an exquisite tale of love, family, suspense, and survival. Capturing with astonishing detail and realism a vanished world of desire and hope trapped beneath rigid class convention, Natasha Solomons's stunning new novel tells the story of Elise Landau, a Jewish Austrian teenager from a family of artists, who is forced to flee her home in Vienna carrying only a guide to household management and her father's last novel, hidden on pages stuffed inside a viola. Elise hides as a parlor maid in a fine English country estate, but soon she discovers that passion can be found in the most unexpected places. Already a bestseller in Britain, American readers will thrill to The House at Tyneford."--Katherine Howe, New York Times bestselling author of The House of Velvet and Glass "Like Downton, this romance compellingly explores the upstairs-downstairs dynamic of estate life."--Entertainment Weekly "Solomons's poignant tale provides richly textured details that hold the reader's interest. Fans of Ann Patchett will find Solomons's style similar and will appreciate how the subdued tone and the quiet of the countryside contrast with the roar of war."--Library Journal "Halfway though, I was so invested in this gorgeously written story that I could barely read on, fearful that what I wished to happen would never come to pass. Permeated with an exquisite sadness, it reminded me of Atonement...I adored this book."--Donna Marchetti, The Cleveland Plain Dealer
show more

About Natasha Solomons

Natasha Solomons is a screenwriter and the New York Times bestselling author of The Gallery of Vanished Husbands, The House at Tyneford, Mr. Rosenblum Dreams in English, and The Song of Hartgrove Hall. She lives in Dorset, England, with her husband and young son.
show more

Rating details

16,531 ratings
3.78 out of 5 stars
5 22% (3,688)
4 42% (7,015)
3 28% (4,566)
2 6% (1,041)
1 1% (221)

Our customer reviews

There's that sense of surprise, delight and unjustified accomplishment in finding a gem of a debut novel. I read Natasha Solomons' Mr. Rosenblum Dreams in English a the start of 2010 and loved it. At the end of the year, I was not surprised to find that it was still one of my favorite books of the year. When her second book came out, I was excited and slightly apprehensive that my expectations might be too high. The House at Tyneford offers a grand out house, echoes of Downton Abbey...it is a story of young Elise - the cosseted daughter of Viennese Jewish intellectual elite. Her mother is a renowned beauty and opera singer - in a country where her skill is celebrated. Her father is equally well respected as the strikingly handsome and internationally respected novelist. Her younger sister is a famous musician in her own right. At the rise of National Socialism, their family prepares to leave Austria. Her parents, sister and brother-in-law are headed for the United States. Since Elise doesn't have the necessary sponsors for America, she takes a different route and applies to work as a servant in a big house in England. Elise wasn't prepared for life as a servant in England, but there is little that she could have done to prepare. She had packed a copy of Mrs. Beaton's famous book, sewed jewelry into her clothing, and carried a duplicate of her father's latest novel hidden in her sister's viola. She had her education, her sharp intellect, her determination to be reunited with her family, and her sense of humor. She was fortunate to come to the Rivers family and Tyneford. The book opens with Elise's recollections of Tyneford the first time she saw it. We learn the story of her life there, of her family's experience during the Nazi occupation of Austria and of how World War II destroyed the life that they knew. I loved The House at Tyneford and couldn't put it down. It is an engrossing read. If you read Natasha Solomons' earlier novel or if you love Downton Abbey, you must read The House at Tyneford. ISBN-10: 0452297648 - Paperback $15 Publisher: Plume; Original edition (December 27, 2011), 236 pages. Review copy courtesy of the Amazon Vine Program and the publisher.show more
by Gaby @ Starting Fresh
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X