The House at Riverton
26%
off

The House at Riverton

3.93 (76,560 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The House at Riverton is a gorgeous debut novel set in England between the wars. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades. Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline. In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they -- and Grace -- know the truth. In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever. The novel is full of secrets -- some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history. Originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, already sold in ten countries and a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters -- and an ending -- the reader won't soon forget.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 473 pages
  • 134.62 x 152.4 x 15.24mm | 272.15g
  • SIMON & SCHUSTER
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1416550534
  • 9781416550532
  • 26,186

Review quote

"An extraordinary debut...written with a lovely turn of phrase. [Morton] knows how to eke out tantalizing secrets and drama." -- "The Sunday Telegraph (UK)"show more

Our customer reviews

i loved this book! the way it is written takes this book from a storyline i didn't feel completely captivated by when i read the blurb and turned it into something i didn't want to put down and left me feeling haunted by when i finished it. can't wait to recommend it to friends. truly a beautiful and heartfelt story that makes you feel a real connection to the characters. thank you kate morton!show more
by cassy
Kate Morton is Enid Blyton and Roald Dahl for grown-ups. While she doesn't write about magic faraway trees or boys who live in giant peaches, she has a gift for storytelling that sweeps you up into the lives of her characters and their worlds. Morton has written three books to date - The Shifting Fog / The House at Riverton, The Forgotten Garden and The Distant Hours. Each book is set in the grand manor houses of early 20th century England. Present day events become loose threads that unravel the long-held secrets contained within their walls. I loved all three books so much I can't pick a favourite and I recommend them all. You can read more of my book recommendations at www.thereadingexperiment.comshow more
by Louise Marsh
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X