House of Shadows

House of Shadows

3.87 (2,455 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 10 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 15-18 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

The wooded hills of Oxfordshire conceal the remains of the aptly named Ashdown House--a wasted pile of cinders and regret. Once home to the daughter of a king, Ashdown and its secrets will unite three women across four centuries in a tangle of intrigue, deceit and destiny... In the winter of 1662, Elizabeth Stuart, the Winter Queen, is on her deathbed. She entrusts an ancient pearl, rumored to have magic power, to her faithful cavalier William Craven for safekeeping. In his grief, William orders the construction of Ashdown Estate in her memory and places the pearl at its center. One hundred and fifty years later, notorious courtesan Lavinia Flyte hears the maids at Ashdown House whisper of a hidden treasure, and bears witness as her protector Lord Evershot--desperate to find it--burns the building to the ground. Now a battered mirror and the diary of a Regency courtesan are the only clues Holly Ansell has to finding her brother, who has gone missing researching the mystery of Elizabeth Stuart and her alleged affair with Lord Craven. As she retraces his footsteps, Holly's quest will soon reveal the truth about Lavinia and compelher to confront the stunning revelation about the legacy of the Winter Queen.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 544 pages
  • 104 x 168 x 33mm | 249g
  • English
  • First Time Trade ed.
  • 1525886037
  • 9781525886034
  • 920,180

Review quote

There is much to enjoy in [this] sumptuous novel. -Sunday Mirror on THE PHANTOM TREE Filled with romance, drama, mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Tracy Rees, Barbara Erskine, and Kate Riordan. -Historical Novel Society on THE PHANTOM TREE A brilliant time-slip novel with a great twist in the tail! -Woman Magazine n THE PHANTOM TREE Atmospheric and elegant, House of Shadows casts a hypnotic spell.... [It] blends a supernaturally tinged historical drama à la Outlander with a cozy village mystery to addictive, mesmerizing effect. -BookPage For fans of Barbara Erskine and Kate Morton comes an unforgettable novel.... House of Shadows delivers all that it promises. -Heroes and Heartbreakers There's a beautiful and ethereal feel to the story, and I found myself with chill bumps reading late at night.... Delightfully atmospheric, House of Shadows is masterfully spun out, [and] deftly performed. Fans of Susanna Kearsley will enjoy this book. -Fresh Fiction Popular fiction author Cornick skillfully packages all these elements into an enjoyable read. -Booklist on HOUSE OF SHADOWS Fans of Kate Morton will enjoy this gripping tale. -Candis on HOUSE OF SHADOWS
show more

Rating details

2,455 ratings
3.87 out of 5 stars
5 27% (670)
4 42% (1,025)
3 24% (586)
2 5% (129)
1 2% (45)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X