The House of Four (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 19)
10%
off

The House of Four (Inspector Ikmen Mystery 19) : A gripping crime thriller set in Istanbul

3.98 (169 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

THE HOUSE OF FOUR is the brand new Istanbul crime thriller featuring Inspector Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph) from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon.

Everyone in the Istanbul neighbourhood of Moda knows the Devil's House. A crumbling Ottoman mansion, and once the home of a princess, it is a place associated with ill fortune.

The princess's four children, now in old age, still live in separate apartments on different floors and are rumoured never to speak to each other. Then one of them is found dead, stabbed through the heart, and it is discovered that the other three siblings have met an identical fate. There is no sign of forced entry or burglary, and all evidence must be gained from letters and diaries, but as Inspector Ikmen digs into their past it becomes clear they have been harbouring a secret...

Meanwhile a young couple are arrested for a series of seemingly random killings on the streets of Istanbul. They claim to have been squatting in the Devil's House. But this fiendish mystery is far from over and it will take Inspector Ikmen to the darkest and most devilish depths of this ancient city.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 147 x 205 x 24mm | 228g
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1472234650
  • 9781472234650
  • 163,428

Review quote

Gripping and unusual detective story, vivid and poignant * Literary Review * Impeccable mystery plotting, exotic and atmospheric * Guardian * Intelligent and captivating * Sunday Times *
show more

About Barbara Nadel

Trained as an actress, Barbara Nadel used to work in mental health services. Born in the East End of London, she now writes full time and has been a visitor to Turkey for over twenty years. She received the Crime Writers' Association Silver Dagger for her novel DEADLY WEB, and the Swedish Flintax Prize for historical crime fiction for her first Francis Hancock novel, LAST RIGHTS.
To find out more, follow Barbara on Twitter @BarbaraNadel or visit her website www.barbara-nadel.com
show more

Rating details

169 ratings
3.98 out of 5 stars
5 35% (59)
4 37% (62)
3 22% (38)
2 4% (7)
1 2% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X