Horrorstor
13%
off

Horrorstor

3.6 (15,220 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

It's a classic old-fashioned haunted house story - set in a big box Swedish furniture superstore. Designed like a retail catalogue, Horrorstor offers a creepy read with mass appeal-perfect for Halloween tables! Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring wardrobes, shattered Bracken glassware, and vandalized Liripip sofabeds-clearly, someone or something is up to no good. To unravel the mystery, five young employees volunteer for a long dusk-til-dawn shift-and they encounter horrors that defy imagination. Along the way, author Grady Hendrix infuses sly social commentary on the nature of work in the new 21st century economy. A traditional haunted house story in a contemporary setting (and full of contemporary fears), Horrorstor comes conveniently packaged in the form of a retail catalogue, complete with illustrations of ready-to-assemble furniture and other, more sinister accessories.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 256 pages
  • 188 x 223 x 17mm | 496g
  • Philadelphia, United States
  • English
  • 1594745269
  • 9781594745263
  • 8,308

Review Text

"Horrorstör delivers a crisp terror-tale...[and] Hendrix strikes a nice balance between comedy and horror."-Washington Post

"Disarming"-Wall Street Journal

"Wildly fun and outrageously inventive"-Shelf Awareness for Readers, starred review

"Hendrix conjures up some wonderfully gruesome imagery"-Nerdist

"A clever little horror story...the book starts as a Palahniuk-tinged satire about the things we own...turning the psychological manipulations and scripted experiences that are inherent to the retail experience into a sinister fight for survival. A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living."-Kirkus Reviews

"If you've ever been frustrated trying to put together furniture from IKEA, you'll get a laugh out of Hendrix's spoof mystery."-New York Post

"A very clever ghost story...the story is entertaining and the book itself is laid out like an Orsk catalog"-Booklist

"A fun horror novel...Enjoyable...There is a fair amount of workplace humor, but the book...will deliver enough scares for horror fans as well."-Library Journal

"The book's packaging as a catalog-complete with illustrations of increasingly sinister-looking furniture with faux Scandinavian names-gives it a charmingly oddball allure."-Publishers Weekly

"Hendrix is an engaging writer."-Santa Fe New Mexican

"With just the right amount of absurdity, this text thoughtfully critiques how workers are too often sidelined in favor of profits."-Alliance for American Manufacturing

Praise for Paperbacks from Hell:

"Pure, demented delight."-The New York Times Book Review

"Paperbacks from Hell is as funny as it is engaging."-The Washington Post

"The book is a true appreciation of the genre."-Los Angeles Times

"Just thumbing through these pages will bring back your youth- and terrify you all over again."-Newsday

"Paperbacks from Hell is as wild as its source material."-The A.V. Club

Praise for My Best Friend's Exorcism:

"National treasure Grady Hendrix follows his classic account of a haunted IKEA-like furniture showroom, Horrorstor (2014), with a nostalgia-soaked ghost story, My Best Friend's Exorcism."-The Wall Street Journal

"Take The Exorcist, add some hair spray and wine coolers, and enroll it in high school in 1988 - that'll give you My Best Friend's Exorcism... Campy. Heartfelt. Horrifying."-Minnesota Public Radio

"Clever, heartfelt, and get-under-your-skin unnerving without succumbing to any of the more predictable exorcism story tropes - things happen in this book that you will not expect. It will leave you sleepless because you won't want to put it down, and you'll be too scared to."-Fangoria

"A touching story of high school friendship and, well, demonic possession."-Bloody Disgusting

"Grady Hendrix's terrific new novel...places best friend drama front and center, and wrings honest truths from the fictional magic...Sharply written...[My Best Friend's Exorcism] makes a convincing case for his powers as a sharp observer of human behavior, filtered through a fun genre conceit that doesn't skimp on the spooky-or the bodily fluids."-The A.V. Club
show more

Review quote

"Horrorst r delivers a crisp terror-tale...[and] Hendrix strikes a nice balance between comedy and horror."--Washington Post

"Disarming"--Wall Street Journal

"Wildly fun and outrageously inventive"--Shelf Awareness for Readers, starred review "Hendrix conjures up some wonderfully gruesome imagery"--Nerdist

"A clever little horror story...the book starts as a Palahniuk-tinged satire about the things we own...turning the psychological manipulations and scripted experiences that are inherent to the retail experience into a sinister fight for survival. A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living."--Kirkus Reviews

"If you've ever been frustrated trying to put together furniture from IKEA, you'll get a laugh out of Hendrix's spoof mystery."--New York Post

"A very clever ghost story...the story is entertaining and the book itself is laid out like an Orsk catalog"--Booklist

"A fun horror novel...Enjoyable...There is a fair amount of workplace humor, but the book...will deliver enough scares for horror fans as well."--Library Journal

"The book's packaging as a catalog--complete with illustrations of increasingly sinister-looking furniture with faux Scandinavian names--gives it a charmingly oddball allure."--Publishers Weekly

"Hendrix is an engaging writer."--Santa Fe New Mexican

"With just the right amount of absurdity, this text thoughtfully critiques how workers are too often sidelined in favor of profits."--Alliance for American Manufacturing

Praise for Paperbacks from Hell

"Pure, demented delight."--The New York Times Book Review

"Paperbacks from Hell is as funny as it is engaging."--The Washington Post

"The book is a true appreciation of the genre."--Los Angeles Times

"Just thumbing through these pages will bring back your youth-- and terrify you all over again."--Newsday

"Paperbacks from Hell is as wild as its source material."--The A.V. Club

Praise for My Best Friend's Exorcism

"National treasure Grady Hendrix follows his classic account of a haunted IKEA-like furniture showroom, Horrorstor (2014), with a nostalgia-soaked ghost story, My Best Friend's Exorcism."--The Wall Street Journal

"Take The Exorcist, add some hair spray and wine coolers, and enroll it in high school in 1988 -- that'll give you My Best Friend's Exorcism... Campy. Heartfelt. Horrifying."--Minnesota Public Radio

"Clever, heartfelt, and get-under-your-skin unnerving without succumbing to any of the more predictable exorcism story tropes -- things happen in this book that you will not expect. It will leave you sleepless because you won't want to put it down, and you'll be too scared to."--Fangoria

"A touching story of high school friendship and, well, demonic possession."--Bloody Disgusting

"Grady Hendrix's terrific new novel...places best friend drama front and center, and wrings honest truths from the fictional magic...Sharply written...[My Best Friend's Exorcism] makes a convincing case for his powers as a sharp observer of human behavior, filtered through a fun genre conceit that doesn't skimp on the spooky--or the bodily fluids."--The A.V. Club
show more

About Grady Hendrix

Grady Hendrix is a writer, journalist, and one of the founders of the New York Asian Film Festival. A former film critic for the New York Sun, Grady has written for Slate, The Village Voice, Time Out New York, Playboy Magazine and Variety.
show more

Rating details

15,220 ratings
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 16% (2,447)
4 41% (6,194)
3 32% (4,946)
2 9% (1,319)
1 2% (314)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X