The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker
10%
off

The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker : The Most Heart-Warming Book You'Ll Read This Year

4.43 (76 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

56 days to go
Pre-order Add to wishlist

Description

`A charming read!' Heidi Swain


`A wonderful antidote to a harsh world' Bella Osborne


`A magical story about love and friendship, full of fun and sparkle. You won't be able to resist the cast of quirky characters!' Fiona Harper


Meet Lucy, aged 25, and Brenda, aged 79. Neighbours, and unlikely friends.
Lucy Baker is not your usual 25-year-old. She is more at home reading and knitting in her cluttered little flat than going out partying and socialising.


79-year-old Brenda is full of wise and wonderful advice, but when she's diagnosed with dementia her life begins to change. Before her memories slip away for ever, Brenda is desperate to fulfil one last wish - to see Lucy happy.


Gifting Lucy the locket that helped Brenda find her own true love, she hopes to push her reticent neighbour in the right direction. But is Lucy Baker ready for the opportunities and heartbreaks of the real world? It's about time she put her knitting needles aside and found out...


The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker will be the most charming, heart-warming and feel-good novel you will read this year, perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan and Gail Honeyman.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 21mm | 270g
  • AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Digital original
  • 0008309698
  • 9780008309695

Review quote

`I was spellbound . . . A charming read, full of magic and mischief!' Heidi Swain


`A magical story about love and friendship, full of fun and sparkle. You won't be able to resist the cast of quirky characters - especially Gorgeous George!' Fiona Harper


`A beautifully heart-warming read with a touch of magic.' Bella Osborne


`Laughter and tears combine in this heartwarming story of female friendship and love across all generations.' Phillipa Ashley


`So heartwarming and entertaining - I loved the dynamic between Brenda and Lucy.' Netgalley reviewer


`A fantastic read that is worth more than five stars!' Netgalley reviewer


`The underlying message of the book concerning the friendship between the 25 year old Lucy and 79 year old Brenda was beautifully told.' Netgalley reviewer


`The world is such a dark and scary place nowadays, that's why I loved this sweet story about love and taking chances.' Netgalley reviewer


`I adored this book. It had it all for me, friendship, love, comedy - I laughed out loud numerous times - magic, love interest and very sympathetically handled dementia.' Netgalley reviewer
show more

About Jenni Keer

After gaining a history degree, Jenni Keer embarked on a career in contract flooring before settling in the middle of the Suffolk countryside with her husband, an antique-restorer. She valiantly attempted to master the ancient art of housework but with four teenage boys in the house, it remains a mystery. Instead, she spends her time at the keyboard writing women's fiction. The Hopes and Dreams of Lucy Baker is her debut.
show more

Rating details

76 ratings
4.43 out of 5 stars
5 51% (39)
4 42% (32)
3 5% (4)
2 1% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X