Hooper
34%
off

Hooper

4.11 (351 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From Geoff Herbach, critically acclaimed author of STUPID FAST, comes a YA novel about a teenage Polish immigrant who finds everything he wants after joining an all-star basketball team-home, family, love, and friendship-only to discover how easy it is to lose it all. Perfect for fans of Jordan Sonnenblick, Andrew Smith, and Matt de la Pena.


From Geoff Herbach, the critically acclaimed author of the Stupid Fast series, comes a compelling new YA novel about basketball, prejudice, privilege, and family, perfect for fans of Jordan Sonnenblick, Andrew Smith, and Matt de la Pena.


For Adam Reed, basketball is a passport. Adam's basketball skills have taken him from an orphanage in Poland to a loving adoptive mother in Minnesota. When he's tapped to play on a select AAU team along with some of the best players in the state, it just confirms that basketball is his ticket to the good life: to new friendships, to the girl of his dreams, to a better future.


But life is more complicated off the court. When an incident with the police threatens to break apart the bonds Adam's finally formed after a lifetime of struggle, he must make an impossible choice between his new family and the sport that's given him everything.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 145 x 215 x 30.48mm | 270g
  • KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062453114
  • 9780062453112
  • 698,656

Review quote

"Lessons on small-town politics and what it means to be a good friend abound in this well-plotted work." -- Booklist "Herbach's ability to expand the narrative from solid game play to confronting racial injustice is remarkable. No one here is perfect, and their failures make readers cringe yet root for success. Hoops and so much more." -- Kirkus Reviews "There's much to love in this sports tale. Fast-paced play-by-plays vividly depict the speed and beauty of the game. Adam's backstory is heartrending and with immigrant mistrust and nonviolent protests in the national spotlight, this is a timely and realistic teen drama and swish-nothin' but net." -- School Library Journal "This sports/school/domestic drama checks all the boxes. What could be another boilerplate basketball novel benefits from a tight cast of well developed secondary characters who surpass their expected stereotypes." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Funny, gut-wrenching, and spilling over with heart, Hooper is an uplifting breath of joy, and gives us all cause to be hopeful. I loved it!" -- Andrew Smith, Michael L. Printz Honor and New York Times Bestselling author of Winger and Grasshopper Jungle "Fresh, funny, thoughtful, subversive, and totally absorbing. Book of the year!" -- Robert Lipsyte, Margaret A. Edwards award-winning author of The Contender "Hooper is a slam dunk! A sports novel with incredible action and tons of heart. I challenge you not to fall in love with these terrific, flawed characters, and just try to put this one down once you start. Impossible." -- Bill Konigsberg, Award-Winning Author of Honestly Ben "Raw, funny, and deeply honest, Geoff Herbach gifts us a story about the messiness of life and the importance of talking about it-ultimately showing us how to not only trudge through it, but to soar." -- Gae Polisner, author of In Sight of Stars and The Memory of Things "Author Geoff Herbach has a remarkable ability to create characters who make us laugh and think, sometimes within the same sentence. Read Hooper and let your self be changed." -- John Coy, author of Gap Life "Geoff Herbach captures rural-urban rivalries and the challenges of finding a home." -- Minneapolis Star Tribune
show more

About Geoff Herbach

Geoff Herbach is the author of Hooper and the award-winning Stupid Fast series, as well as Fat Boy vs. the Cheerleaders. His books have been given the Cybils Award for Best Young Adult Fiction and the Minnesota Book Award, selected for the Junior Library Guild, and listed among the year's best by the American Library Association, the American Booksellers Association, and many state library associations. In the past, he produced radio comedy shows and toured rock clubs telling weird stories. Geoff teaches creative writing at Minnesota State University, Mankato. He lives in a log cabin with a tall wife. You can find him online at www.geoffherbach.com.
show more

Rating details

351 ratings
4.11 out of 5 stars
5 37% (130)
4 42% (148)
3 17% (61)
2 3% (9)
1 1% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X