Honestly Ben
26%
off

Honestly Ben

4.1 (324 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The companion to the award-winning Openly Straight and earner of three starred reviews, called "remarkable...deeply satisfying and as honest as its appealing protagonist" (Booklist). Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Andrew Smith, and John Green. Ben Carver is back to normal. He's working steadily in his classes at the Natick School. He just got elected captain of the baseball team. He's even won a full scholarship to college, if he can keep up his grades. All that foolishness with Rafe Goldberg the past semester is in the past. Except... There's Hannah, the gorgeous girl from the neighboring school, who attracts him and distracts him. There's his mother, whose quiet unhappiness Ben is noticing for the first time. School is harder, the pressure higher, the scholarship almost slipping away. And there's Rafe, funny, kind, dating someone else . . . and maybe the real normal that Ben needs.show more

Product details

  • 13+
  • Hardback | 326 pages
  • 147 x 211 x 30mm | 408g
  • Arthur A. Levine Books
  • United States
  • English
  • 0545858267
  • 9780545858267
  • 22,878

Review quote

Praise for Openly Straight Winner of the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection Lambda Literary Award Finalist "Konigsberg's lovely novel invites us to walk with Rafe through his season of assumed identity and his costly emergence into honesty. It's beautiful. It's a story of salvation." -- The New York Times Book Review * "Lambda Literary Award-winner Konigsberg has written an exceptionally intelligent, thought-provoking, coming-of-age novel about the labels people apply to us and that we, perversely, apply to ourselves... Openly Straight is altogether one of the best gay-themed novels of the last ten years." -- Booklist, starred review * "Readers and discussion groups looking for new and deeper ways to think about what it means to live honestly in a world that sorts by labels will find this fresh and evocative." -- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review "For a thought-provoking, creative, twenty-first-century take on the coming-out story, look no further." -- The Horn Book Magazine Praise for The Porcupine of Truth Winner of the Stonewall Book Award Winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Children's/Young Adult A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection "Words like 'brilliant' are so overused when praising novels--so I won't use that word. I'll just think it." -- Benjamin Alire Saenz, author of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe "Bill Konigsberg's The Porcupine of Truth is at once heartwarming and heartbreaking, a funny and thought-provoking road trip with remarkable friends Carson and Aisha, who share tough lessons about mending fractures, forging bonds, and discovering grace. Undeniably human and unforgettably wise, this book is a gift for us all." -- Andrew Smith, author of Grasshopper Jungle and Winger * "Konigsberg weaves together a masterful tale of uncovering the past, finding wisdom, and accepting others as well as oneself." -- School Library Journal, starred review * "Konigsberg... crafts fascinating, multidimensional teen and adult characters. A friendship between a straight boy and a lesbian is relatively rare in YA fiction and is, accordingly, exceedingly welcome." -- Booklist, starred review "Equal parts funny and profound." -- Kirkus Reviews"show more

About Bill Konigsberg

Bill Konigsberg is the author of Openly Straight, which won the SCBWI Sid Fleischman Award for Humor and was named to the YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults list; The Porcupine of Truth, which won the Stonewall Book Award and was named a Booklist Editors' Choice selection; and Out of the Pocket, which won the Lambda Literary Award. Bill lives in Chandler, Arizona, with his husband, Chuck. Please visit him online at billkonigsberg.com and @billkonigsberg.show more

Flap copy

Ben Carver is back to normal. He's getting all As in his classes at the Natick School. He was just elected captain of the baseball team. He's even won a big scholarship for college, if he can keep up his grades. All that foolishness with Rafe Goldberg last semester is over now, and he just needs to be a Carver, work hard, and stay focused. Except... There's Hannah, a gorgeous girl who attracts him and distracts him. There's his mother, whose quiet unhappiness he's noticing for the first time. School is harder, the pressure higher, the scholarship almost slipping away. And there's Rafe, goofy, kind, dating someone else... and maybe the real normal that Ben needs. Perfect for fans of David Levithan and John Green, Honestly Ben is a smart, serious, laugh-out-loud novel that will speak to anyone who's struggled to be "honestly __________" in their lives.show more

Back cover copy

Praise for Openly Straight "Konigsberg's lovely novel invites us to walk with Rafe through his season of assumed identity and his costly emergence into honesty. It's beautiful. It's a story of salvation." -- The New York Times Book Review * "Lambda Literary Award-winner Konigsberg has written an exceptionally intelligent, thought-provoking, coming-of-age novel about the labels people apply to us and that we, perversely, apply to ourselves.... Openly Straight is altogether one of the best gay-themed novels of the last ten years." -- Booklist, starred review "For a thought-provoking, creative, twenty-first-century take on the coming-out story, look no further." -- The Horn Book Magazine Praise for The Porcupine of Truth * "Konigsberg weaves together a masterful tale of uncovering the past, finding wisdom, and accepting others as well as oneself." -- School Library Journal, starred review "The story tackles questions about religion, family, and intimacy with depth and grace.... Equal parts funny and profound." -- The Horn Book Magazineshow more

Rating details

324 ratings
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 39% (126)
4 37% (120)
3 20% (66)
2 3% (10)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X