Home and Away
30%
off

Home and Away

3.77 (139 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Tasia Quirk is young, Black, and fabulous. She's a senior, she's got great friends, and a supportive and wealthy family. She even plays football as the only girl on her private high school's team.

But when she catches her mother trying to stuff a mysterious box in the closet, her identity is suddenly called into question. Now Tasia's determined to unravel the lies that have overtaken her life. Along the way, she discovers what family and forgiveness really mean, and that her answers don't come without a fee. An artsy bisexual boy from the Valley could help her find them - but only if she stops fighting who she is, beyond the colour of her skin.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 149 x 215 x 31mm | 549g
  • Essex, United States
  • English
  • 1624145957
  • 9781624145957
  • 1,832,472

Review quote

* "Montgomery's thoughtful craft is driven by immediacy and tension and grounded in emotional authenticity... The juxtaposition of Taze's exploration of her black biracial identity alongside the unfettered diversity of identity and experiences among the supporting cast goes beyond refreshing all the way to restorative for readers weary of the search for intersectional mirrors. A love letter to the intricacies of family and multitudinous black girlhood." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"The consistently strong writing and overall story arc will engage teens. Fans of Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon will enjoy this gripping story of the love, family, and forgiveness." - School Library Journal

"Debut author Montgomery pulls no punches...This smart, compassionate coming-of-age story about a sensitive, talented black girl in the midst of pivotal growth is a great pick for fans of Brandy Colbert." - Booklist

"A stunning tapestry of texture and culture that doesn't shy away from tough topics or the messiness of humanity, Home and Away shines a multicolored light on the myriad meanings of 'family' and how each plays a role in shaping who we are, what we do, and who we become. I didn't want it to end!" - Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"With honesty and grace, Home and Away tackles the complexity of growing up: family, identity, old friends, new loves, and what it means to be you in this world. Through every laugh and wiped-away tear, you'll wish you were friends with Tasia Quirk." - Emery Lord, award-winning author of When We Collided

"With beautifully diverse characters so real they might be your own neighbors, Home and Away is an achingly earnest look at discovering who you are and who you could be. Poetic, honest, and trope-defying, this book is an emotional touchdown. Candice Montgomery is going to be a star." - Lily Anderson, author of Undead Girl Gang

"Tasia Quirk is bold, funny, talented, passionate, vulnerable, fierce, and just plain fabulous. Get ready to meet your new favorite YA heroine in Taze, and your new favorite YA voice in Candice Montgomery." - Dahlia Adler, author of Just Visiting
show more

About Candice Montgomery

Candice Montgomery is an LA transplant now residing in Seattle. By day, she teaches dance and works in the land of early childhood Deaf education. By night, she writes YA lit about Black teens across all their intersections. Home and Away is her debut novel. Find her on Twitter @CandiceAmanda.
show more

Rating details

139 ratings
3.77 out of 5 stars
5 28% (39)
4 34% (47)
3 29% (40)
2 6% (9)
1 3% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X