Hollow City
10%
off

Hollow City

4.07 (121,519 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

This second novel begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine's island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises. Complete with dozens of newly discovered (and thoroughly mesmerizing) vintage photographs, this new adventure will delight readers of all ages.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 129.54 x 205.74 x 30.48mm | 544.31g
  • Quirk Books
  • Philadelphia, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • photographs throughout
  • 1594747350
  • 9781594747359
  • 622

Review quote

-I was blown away...Hollow City is fantastic.---USAToday.com -A worthy follow-up, and as addictive a read as the first.---Hypable -Hollow City mixes spooky vintage photos and action-packed storytelling to continue the story of Jacob Portman and his fellow -peculiars- as they travel through time to war-torn London.---Dan Kois, Slate -A perfect blend of creepiness and thoughtfulness.---PopMatters -A stunning achievement... Hollow City is even richer than Riggs's imaginative debut, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.---Boston Globe -What makes the series soar, however, is not the world-building, as intriguing as it is, but the heartfelt intensity of the emotions.---Virginian-Pilot -Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more.---Shelf Awareness for Readers -A tasty adventure for any reader with an appetite for the...peculiar.---Kirkus Reviews -New readers of the series will find this novel a treat...Fans of the first title will find this book a treasure. The only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends.---School Library Journal -Riggs has created a fresh and original world in these Peregrine novels, with likable, quirky characters and a very readable style.---Library Journal Xpress Review -Fans will be thrilled to know that the sequel to Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is as hauntingly sinister as the first and is unequivocally worth the wait. It's a rare sequel that improves on the series' beginning... A must-read!- --RT Book Reviews -A great big jolt of fun.---LitReactor -Fans will be pleased with this second volume and downright delighted to know that a third in the series is in the offering.---BooklistPraise for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children -A tense, moving, and wondrously strange first novel. The photographs and text work together brilliantly to create an unforgettable story.---John Green, New York Times best-selling author of Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns -Readers searching for the next Harry Potter may want to visit Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.---CNN -Riggs deftly moves between fantasy and reality, prose and photography to create an enchanting and at times positively terrifying story.---Associated Press -I read all of the Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children books and I loved them.---Florence of Florence + The Machine -[A] thrilling, Tim Burton-esque tale with haunting photographs.---USA Today Pop Candy -With its X-Men: First Class-meets-time-travel story line, David Lynchian imagery, and rich, eerie detail, it's no wonder Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children has been snapped up by Twentieth Century Fox. B+---Entertainment Weekly -Peculiar' doesn't even begin to cover it. Riggs' chilling, wondrous novel is already headed to the movies.---People -You'll love it if you want a good thriller for the summer. It's a mystery, and you'll race to solve it before Jacob figures it out for himself.---Seventeen -This peculiar parable is pure perfection.---Justine magazine -One of the coolest, creepiest YA books.---PopSugar -It's an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters.---Publishers Weekly -An original work that defies categorization, this first novel should appeal to readers who like quirky fantasies. Riggs includes many vintage photographs that add a critical touch of the peculiar to his unusual tale.---Library Journal -Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children is a wonderfully original and inventive book with colorful characters, a mysterious tale woven together with threads of historical relevance, and incorporating unforgettable vintage photographs which bring the story to life.---Geeks of Doom -Brace yourself for the last 70 pages of relentless, squirm-in-your-chair action. I loved every minute of it.---Cleveland Plain Dealer -Hands down, this is one of the best books of recent years...both creepy and terrifyingly delicious.---Forces of Geek -Though technically a children's book, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is more Grimm's than Disney, and Riggs images, dropped like bread crumbs, could lead audiences of any age happily down the path of its spellbinding tale.---Florida Times-Union -In a time when so much summer entertainment seems to be more of the same, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is a pleasant surprise--a story that is fresh and new, engrosses and grips, and provides enough clues so that the ending makes sense and seems thoughtful.- --PopMatters -A twisting tale of phenomenal children, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is a book that both children and adults will love.---Rompershow more

About Ransom Riggs

Ransom Riggs is the #1 New York Times best-selling author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. He is also the author of Talking Pictures (Harper Collins, 2012) and The Sherlock Holmes Handbook (Quirk, 2008). He is a graduate of the University of Southern California School of Cinematic Arts and lives in Los Angeles.show more

Review Text

"I was blown away... Hollow City is fantastic."- USAToday.com"A worthy follow-up, and as addictive a read as the first."- Hypable" Hollow City mixes spooky vintage photos and action-packed storytelling to continue the story of Jacob Portman and his fellow "peculiars" as they travel through time to war-torn London."-Dan Kois, Slate"A perfect blend of creepiness and thoughtfulness."- PopMatters"A stunning achievement... Hollow City is even richer than Riggs's imaginative debut, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. "- Boston Globe"What makes the series soar, however, is not the world-building, as intriguing as it is, but the heartfelt intensity of the emotions."- Virginian-Pilot"Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more."- Shelf Awareness for Readers"A tasty adventure for any reader with an appetite for the...peculiar."- Kirkus Reviews"New readers of the series will find this novel a treat...Fans of the first title will find this book a treasure. The only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends."- School Library Journal"Riggs has created a fresh and original world in these Peregrine novels, with likable, quirky characters and a very readable style."- Library Journal Xpress Review"Fans will be thrilled to know that the sequel to Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is as hauntingly sinister as the first and is unequivocally worth the wait. It's a rare sequel that improves on the series' beginning. .. A must-read!" -RT Book Reviews"A great big jolt of fun."- LitReactor"Fans will be pleased with this second volume and downright delighted to know that a third in the series is in the offering."- BooklistPraise for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children "A tense, moving, and wondrously strange first novel. The photographs and text work together brilliantly to create an unforgettable story."-John Green, New York Times best-selling author of Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns"Readers searching for the next Harry Potter may want to visit Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children ."- CNN"Riggs deftly moves between fantasy and reality, prose and photography to create an enchanting and at times positively terrifying story."- Associated Press"I read all of the Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children books and I loved them."-Florence of Florence + The Machine"[A] thrilling, Tim Burton-esque tale with haunting photographs."- USA Today Pop Candy "With its X-Men: First Class -meets-time-travel story line, David Lynchian imagery, and rich, eerie detail, it's no wonder Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children has been snapped up by Twentieth Century Fox. B+"- Entertainment Weekly "Peculiar' doesn't even begin to cover it. Riggs' chilling, wondrous novel is already headed to the movies."- People"You'll love it if you want a good thriller for the summer. It's a mystery, and you'll race to solve it before Jacob figures it out for himself."- Seventeen"This peculiar parable is pure perfection."- Justine magazine"One of the coolest, creepiest YA books."- PopSugar"It's an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters."- Publishers Weekly"An original work that defies categorization, this first novel should appeal to readers who like quirky fantasies. Riggs includes many vintage photographs that add a critical touch of the peculiar to his unusual tale."- Library Journal" Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children is a wonderfully original and inventive book with colorful characters, a mysterious tale woven together with threads of historical relevance, and incorporating unforgettable vintage photographs which bring the story to life."- Geeks of Doom"Brace yourself for the lastshow more

Rating details

121,519 ratings
4.07 out of 5 stars
5 36% (43,394)
4 41% (49,703)
3 19% (23,361)
2 3% (4,217)
1 1% (844)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X