Hollow City

Hollow City : The Second Novel of Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children

4.08 (110,743 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$11.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Read the sequel to the New York Times #1 best-selling book. The movie adaptation of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is now a major motion picture from visionary director Tim Burton, staring Eva Green, Asa Butterfield, Ella Purnell, Samual L. Jackson, and Judi Dench. Like its predecessor, this second novel in the Peculiar Children series blends thrilling fantasy with vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience. September 3, 1940. Ten peculiar children flee an army of deadly monsters. And only one person can help them—but she’s trapped in the body of a bird. The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. There, they hope to find a cure for their beloved headmistress, Miss Peregrine. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. And before Jacob can deliver the peculiar children to safety, he must make an important decision about his love for Emma Bloom.show more

Product details

  • 14+
  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 130 x 208 x 26mm | 439.99g
  • Quirk Books
  • Philadelphia, United States
  • English
  • w. photos
  • 1594747172
  • 9781594747175
  • 6,545

Review Text

"...a perfect blend of creepiness and thoughtfulness"- Popmatters "Fans will be pleased with this second volume and downright delighted to know that a third in the series is in the offering."- Booklist "What makes the series soar, however, is not the world-building, as intriguing as it is, but the heartfelt intensity of the emotions."- Virginian-Pilot "New readers of the series will find this novel a treat...Fans of the first title will find this book a treasure. The only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends."- School Library Journal "...a stunning achievement."- Boston Globe "I was blown away.... Hollow City is fantastic..."- USAToday.com "Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more."- Shelf Awareness for Readers "...a great big jolt of fun"- Litreactor.com "...a tasty adventure for any reader with an appetite for the...peculiar."- Kirkus Reviews "Riggs has created a fresh and original world in these Peregrine novels, with likable, quirky characters and a very readable style."- Library Journal Xpress Review "...fans will be thrilled to know that the sequel to Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is as hauntingly sinister is the first and is unequivocally worth the wait. It's a rare sequel that improves on the series' beginning. .. A must-read!" -RT Book Reviewsshow more

About Ransom Riggs

Ransom Riggs is the author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Quirk, 2011), a New York Times best seller with more than 5 million copies sold, as well as its best-selling sequels Hollow City (Quirk, 2013) and Library of Souls (Quirk, 2015). He lives in Santa Monica, CA, with his wife.show more

Review quote

“I was blown away...Hollow City is fantastic.”—USAToday.com “A worthy follow-up, and as addictive a read as the first.”—Hypable   “Hollow City mixes spooky vintage photos and action-packed storytelling to continue the story of Jacob Portman and his fellow “peculiars” as they travel through time to war-torn London.”—Dan Kois, Slate   “A perfect blend of creepiness and thoughtfulness.”—PopMatters   “A stunning achievement… Hollow City is even richer than Riggs’s imaginative debut, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.”—Boston Globe   “What makes the series soar, however, is not the world-building, as intriguing as it is, but the heartfelt intensity of the emotions.”—Virginian-Pilot   “Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more.”—Shelf Awareness for Readers   “A tasty adventure for any reader with an appetite for the…peculiar.”—Kirkus Reviews “New readers of the series will find this novel a treat...Fans of the first title will find this book a treasure. The only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends.”—School Library Journal “Riggs has created a fresh and original world in these Peregrine novels, with likable, quirky characters and a very readable style.”—Library Journal Xpress Review   “Fans will be thrilled to know that the sequel to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is as hauntingly sinister as the first and is unequivocally worth the wait. It’s a rare sequel that improves on the series’ beginning... A must-read!” —RT Book Reviews   “A great big jolt of fun.”—LitReactor   “Fans will be pleased with this second volume and downright delighted to know that a third in the series is in the offering.”—Booklist Praise for Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children   “A tense, moving, and wondrously strange first novel. The photographs and text work together brilliantly to create an unforgettable story.”—John Green, New York Times best-selling author of Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns   “Readers searching for the next Harry Potter may want to visit Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.”—CNN “Riggs deftly moves between fantasy and reality, prose and photography to create an enchanting and at times positively terrifying story.”—Associated Press “I read all of the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children books and I loved them.”—Florence of Florence + The Machine “[A] thrilling, Tim Burton-esque tale with haunting photographs.”—USA Today Pop Candy    “With its X-Men: First Class-meets-time-travel story line, David Lynchian imagery, and rich, eerie detail, it’s no wonder Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children has been snapped up by Twentieth Century Fox. B+”—Entertainment Weekly  “Peculiar’ doesn’t even begin to cover it. Riggs’ chilling, wondrous novel is already headed to the movies.”—People “You'll love it if you want a good thriller for the summer. It's a mystery, and you'll race to solve it before Jacob figures it out for himself.”—Seventeen “This peculiar parable is pure perfection.”—Justine magazine “One of the coolest, creepiest YA books.”—PopSugar   “It’s an enjoyable, eccentric read, distinguished by well-developed characters, a believable Welsh setting, and some very creepy monsters.”—Publishers Weekly   “An original work that defies categorization, this first novel should appeal to readers who like quirky fantasies. Riggs includes many vintage photographs that add a critical touch of the peculiar to his unusual tale.”—Library Journal   “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children is a wonderfully original and inventive book with colorful characters, a mysterious tale woven together with threads of historical relevance, and incorporating unforgettable vintage photographs which bring the story to life.”—Geeks of Doom “Brace yourself for the last 70 pages of relentless, squirm-in-your-chair action. I loved every minute of it.”—Cleveland Plain Dealer   “Hands down, this is one of the best books of recent years...both creepy and terrifyingly delicious.”—Forces of Geek   “Though technically a children's book, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is more Grimm's than Disney, and Riggs images, dropped like bread crumbs, could lead audiences of any age happily down the path of its spellbinding tale.”—Florida Times-Union “In a time when so much summer entertainment seems to be more of the same, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is a pleasant surprise—a story that is fresh and new, engrosses and grips, and provides enough clues so that the ending makes sense and seems thoughtful.” —PopMatters   “A twisting tale of phenomenal children, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is a book that both children and adults will love.”—Rompershow more

Our customer reviews

It was hard not to enjoy Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children since it got me screaming at the bookstore and after. Hollow City came after when I had some cash to spare. I sincerely wanted to get it when it was released but I ain’t rich yet, so. Once I got my money, I rushed to the bookstore, and tiptoed to the features section where all the newly released books were and grabbed it faster than a speeding bullet, stared at it and run my fingers on the book. I went home like a kid from the candy store. Hollow City is the sequel to the first novel by Ransom Riggs. We were left with the peculiar kids, travelling with Miss Peregrine, in her bird form, trying to find other loops where they’d be safe from the wights that follow them. The thing that I mostly enjoyed while reading the book is the gripping storyline and the suspense of each scene. I honestly didn’t predict anything that was going to happen because you can’t. While reading, I was invested fully on what they were doing, trying to save themselves from hollowgasts, meeting new peculiars and travelling through loops. I was hit with surprise, after surprise after surprise! Though you could say I was going to receive heart attacks from the spur of events, but through them I got to know more about the other peculiars abilities and that even from being stuck in their 1940 loop, they are still brave little souls, who are willing to risk their lives in order to save their loving Miss Peregrine from being a bird forever. The characterization is so much fuller this time around, which makes sense since the first novel became an introduction to the syndrigast world. Now, Hollow City is more action packed and mysterious in a way, with the main characters becoming more defined around the new characters introduced. This is honestly what I love about Ransom’s novels. Even if you are thrown with so many characters, they are in their very way, special and couldn’t be forgotten even if they were only in a couple of scenes. Out of all the new characters introduced, my favourites would have to be Althea, and Joel and Peter. They are the characters you wouldn’t think would leave a mark, but they are a treat and oh so powerful. Jacob has become manlier and braver from the first novel. He has actually become more attractive in my imagination. Enoch, as always, is the most annoying yet the funniest foil I’ve ever encountered in a novel. I just love how he was written. Thank you for Enoch, Ransom. Another lovely aspect from this sequel is the travelling and different sidetracks in their adventures such as the wonderful gypsies and the annoying wights. It gives so much flavour to the story. Also, the hunt for the time loops through the help of the Peculiar storybook they have was very interesting. The stories were entertaining and when you got the first one, you were willing to decipher the next one with them. The photographs again were enchanting however, I must say, the photos in the first novel were scarier. Maybe it’s because I knew that I’d get used to seeing them but nonetheless, they are still haunting and fascinating. Hollow City is a thrill to read and any booknerd would pull an all-nighter for this enthralling and wonderful read.show more
by Writer For Misfits
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X