Hitching for Hope
10%
off

Hitching for Hope : A Journey into the Heart and Soul of Ireland

4.14 (35 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

#1 Irish Times Bestseller!



A book about hope when the world was collapsing Irish Times



A modern travel tale, part personal pilgrimage, part political quest that captures the power of human resilience



"McKiernan sticks his thumb out, and somehow a healthy dose of humanity manages to roll up alongside him. . . . This book is a paean to nuance, decency and possibility."-Colum McCann, National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author of Let the Great World Spin and Apeirogon.



Perfect for fans of Bill Bryson



Following the collapse of Ireland's economy, social activist Ruairi McKiernan questions whether he should join the mounting number of emigrants searching for greater opportunity elsewhere. McKiernan embarks on a hitchhiking odyssey with no money, no itinerary and no idea where he might end up each night. His mission: to give voice to those emerging from one of the most painful periods of economic and social turmoil in Ireland's history. Engaging, provocative and sincere, Hitching for Hope is a testimony to the spirit of Ireland. It is an inspirational manifesto for hope and healing in troubled times.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 240 pages
  • 156 x 235 x 20mm | 381g
  • White River Junction, United States
  • English
  • 1603589570
  • 9781603589574
  • 58,603

Review quote

"A timely comfort read."-The Sunday Times Library Journal-



"An uplifting account of McKiernan's journey and the stories shared with him along the way. Will appeal to lovers of memoirs and patrons who enjoy reading about those who effect and inspire change." 'In Hitching for Hope, Ruairi McKiernan sets out on a pilgrimage to capture truth and to hear stories that deserve to be heard. He sticks his thumb out, and somehow a healthy dose of humanity manages to roll up alongside him. McKiernan is a writer who finds home in the elsewhere. This book is a paean to nuance, decency and possibility.'-Colum McCann, author of Let the Great World Spin; cofounder of Narrative 4 'Ruairi's tale of his journey comes as a breath of fresh air, awakening us to the adventures in store when we embark beyond well-trod routines into new encounters. It reminds me of my own hitchhiking trip in the UK seventy years ago-full of spunk, resilience, and zest for discovery. Whether "hitching for hope" or working together in a neighbourhood garden, we can link arms for the sake of the Great Turning to a life-sustaining future.'-Joanna Macy, author of Coming Back to Life 'Ruairi McKiernan takes time to look behind the stone walls of Ireland. Travelling from pillar to post, he takes note of what many of us sometimes fail to see. Always revealing, always caring and compassionate.'-Christy Moore, singer-songwriter



'The act of hitchhiking demands spontaneous interaction-a subversive moment of community between strangers that is increasingly lost or avoided in lives dictated by algorithms and automated route planners. The insights Ruairi McKiernan shares from people he meets on these freewheeling journeys somehow defy cynicism. The many voices in this book, from undocumented immigrants to young farmers, capture Ireland at a time of deep crisis but also radical change.'-Caelainn Hogan, author of Republic of Shame 'Ireland went through its Celtic Tiger phase, all consumerism and growth. And then it crashed. In the aftermath, Ruairi McKiernan found that, like humans everywhere, what people really yearned for was community and connection, even if they'd almost forgotten how any of that worked. This is a tale that will resonate all over the world.'-Bill McKibben, author of Wandering Home 'Making a reader stop and think is something we should all want to achieve, and Ruairi McKiernan succeeds. Ordinary people and their lived experiences are at the heart of this book. Hitching for Hope demonstrates that, despite a diversity of backgrounds, we all want the same things: to find peace, to flourish and to help our families and communities thrive.'-Lynn Ruane, Independent Senator; activist; author of People Like Me 'After travelling around Ireland and listening rather than speaking, McKiernan has produced a personal diary, a guided tour of his native country and an Irish Canterbury Tales for the twenty-first century. Hitching for Hope is a package of hope itself, full of kindness, political observations and of course the craic. Irish at its core and international in its search for optimism and communal involvement, it's an easy and uplifting read.'-Peggy Seeger, singer-songwriter; author of First Time Ever



'Hitchhiking is the ultimate act of surrender and vulnerability where one must depend on the kindness of strangers and one's own inner patience. At a time of social and ecological transition, McKiernan opens himself to the road, offering up a moving window into the fears, dreams, and possibilities of the Irish land and people. More transporting than a travelogue, Hitching for Hope is a tale full of serendipitous encounters and the spirit of Ireland's byways.'-Chuck Collins, Institute for Policy Studies; author of Born on Third Base 'In this pilgrimage around modern Ireland, Ruairi takes us to the people-to the nation's beating heart. At times we glimpse the light that, since the old Dark Ages, has been Ireland's gift to a hungry world.'-Alastair McIntosh, author of Soil and Soul and Poacher's Pilgrimage 'Listening requires focus, attention, and awareness-skills that Ruairi has perfected. He listens to so many different perspectives without reacting or debating, and opens his mind and heart to each of them. I highly recommend this book. I guarantee that you will not be able to put it down.'-Frances Black, Independent Senator; singer; founder of RISE Foundation 'Funny, philosophical, and moving, this book illuminates a lesser-seen map of a better and kinder humanity. In an age of cynicism and despair, the stories and insights Ruairi unveils are exactly the medicine we need to wake up and remember who we really are. Whether or not it persuades you to hitchhike to your next business meeting, this book will certainly remind you that people-and the future-may not be as scary as you thought.'-Amanda Palmer, singer-songwriter; author of The Art of Asking 'Ruairi McKiernan hitchhikes through Ireland's soul-its heartbeat-to bring us an authentic and utterly compelling narrative. Think McCarthy's Bar for the socially conscious. An important and enjoyable read from a trusted voice.'-Brian O'Connell, journalist; author of The Personals 'An epic journey into the hearts and minds of Ireland. Powerful and insightful.'-Damien Dempsey, folk singer 'Burnt out from his work as a community organizer, Ruairi McKiernan decided to hit the road. He stuck out his thumb-and his neck, too-hoping to learn something about himself and his country. A wholehearted testament to the power of deep listening and a beautiful glimpse into the Irish spirit, Hitching for Hope tells the story of his journey. There is cause for hope in these dark times, and Ruairi found it in the people.'-Andrew Forsthoefel, author of Walking to Listen
show more

About Ruairi McKiernan

Ruairi McKiernan is a renowned Irish social campaigner, Fulbright scholar, former Presidential appointee to Ireland's Council of State, and European Director of the American nonprofit Narrative 4. He is also the host of the popular Love and Courage podcast, founder of the pioneering SpunOut.ie national youth charity, and a founding member of the Uplift organization. In 2017, the global social entrepreneur foundation, Ashoka, named McKiernan one of the top ten people leading social change in Ireland.
show more

Rating details

35 ratings
4.14 out of 5 stars
5 49% (17)
4 23% (8)
3 23% (8)
2 6% (2)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X