The History of Tasmania: Volume 1

The History of Tasmania: Volume 1

By (author) 

List price: US$80.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


John West (1809-1873) was an English-born minister who received a Colonial Missionary Society post in Tasmania in 1838. West became an outspoken opponent of the ongoing government policy of transporting convicts from Britain to Tasmania. Around 1847 a wealthy supporter approached West to write the colony's history, although it had been a British territory only since 1803. West accepted the task and, amid his campaigning and other responsibilities, completed this two-volume work which was published in 1852. It is divided between a straightforward narrative of events and thematic issues such as the treatment of the Aboriginal peoples and the issue of the convict transport system. Volume 1 covers the development of the colony, starting with the arrival of the Dutch in the seventeenth century, who named the island Van Diemen's Land, through to British control and its subsequent settlement as the colony of Tasmania.
show more

Product details

  • Electronic book text
  • Cambridge University Press (Virtual Publishing)
  • Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1139013181
  • 9781139013185

Table of contents

Part I. Discovery: 1. Anthony Van Diemen, governor of Batavia; 2. Colonel Purry's project; Part II. From 1803 go 1824: 1. Van Diemen's Land occupied; 2. Hobart Town named; 3. Lieutenant E. Lord acting lieutenant-governor; 4. Form of colonial government; 5. Lieutenant-Governor Sorrell; 6. Sheep introduced; 7. Whaling; 8. Religious efforts; 9. Bill for better administration of justice; Part III. From 1824 to 1836: 1. Lieutenant-Colonel Arthur, superintendent at Honduras; 2. Rise of the Australian press; 3. Van Diemen's Land Company formed; 4. State of society at Hobart; 5. Dispute between Jennings and Montagu; 6. Grammar school; 7. Bank of Van Diemen's Land; 8. Liabilities of publicans; 9. Endowment of emigrants with land; 10. Van Diemen's Land divided into counties; 11. Brisbane grants; 12. Wakefield's colonization scheme; 13. Bank of Australasia; 14. Glorious 23rd of May!; 15. Mr. W. Bryan's disagreement with Arthur; 16. 'True Colonist'; 17. Recall of Arthur; Part IV. From 1836 to 1843: 1. Snodgrass acting-governor; 2. Difficulties respecting the churches; 3. Education; 4. Distillation forbidden; 5. Franklin arranges probation system; Part V. From 1843 to 1847: 1. Sir William Denison meets the twelve; 2. Struggle against transportation; 3. London agency; 4. Lord J. Russell's speech; 5. The 'Australias are One'; Zoology: 1. Mammalia; 2. Birds; 3. Fishes; 4. Reptiles; 5. Insects; 6. Mollusca.
show more