The History of Jasper County, Iowa; Containing a History of the County, Its Cities, Towns, &C.

The History of Jasper County, Iowa; Containing a History of the County, Its Cities, Towns, &C. : A Biographical Directory of Its Citizens, War Record of Its Volunteers in the Late Rebellion, General and Local Statistics ... History of the

By (author) 

List price: US$11.97

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This historic book may have numerous typos and missing text. Purchasers can usually download a free scanned copy of the original book (without typos) from the publisher. Not indexed. Not illustrated. 1878 edition. Excerpt: the direction of N. J. Latimore's, by way of Hammer's mill. The usual stipulation for costs was made by the Board. April 16, 1851, James W. Seay was appointed administrator of the estate of Emeline Owen, deceased. Once a year was quite suflicient for the judicial needs of the sparse population of Jasper, and the only term held in 1851 began on the 18th of August, the June term having been adjourned by Judge McKay. A special venire fora grand jury was sent out, and the following summoned: David Campbell, David Hinshaw, Calvin Wolf. Henry Adamson, Seth Hammer, Anderson Vowel, John Thorp, R. B. Main, Thomas J. Adamson, Jacob Worth, Elias Prunty, Jacob Booher, George W. Logsdon, James Rickman and Richard Banker. The only criminal case before the court was dismissed on the motion of H. J. Skiff, District Attorney, and the grand jury, finding nothing to do, were dismissed. Twenty-three civil cases were on the docket, of which four were submitted to the tender mercies of a petit jury. Thomas Tuttle appeared and expressed a desire to become a citizen. The grand jurors drawn for the August sitting (1851) of the District Court were Bird Vowell, George Howell, Greenbury Sego, T. J. Densmore, T. J. Allen, James Plumb, Wyatt Adkins, Samuel McDaniel, A. S. Cox, Alexander Black, Ash Prunty, Elijah Friend, Walter Turner, J. W. Swann, Ezekiel Shipley. The petit jurors were Charles C. Thorp, Thomas Logsdon, Solomon Fry, Jeremiah Kintz, Joseph Kintz, Abishai Alloway, J. L. Hammer, Alvin Adkins, Thomas Antle, Daniel VV. Shearer, George Booher, Andrew Insley, Benjamin Adamson, Aquila Cushatt, W. B. Campbell, Wesley Stallings, A. T. Prouty, Nelson Alloway. In July, the Board levied a State tax of 3 mills; county, 4 mills; school, 1 mill; and $1.50 on more

Product details

  • Paperback | 348 pages
  • 189 x 246 x 18mm | 621g
  • United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1236936264
  • 9781236936264