The Hill Road

The Hill Road

3.86 (116 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Hardback
By (author) 

List price: US$21.45

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

The "Hill Road" marks the debut of an original and exciting new voice in Irish Fiction. Writing in the tradition of William Trevor and John McGahern, Patrick O'Keeffe has created a vision of rural Ireland in four unforgettable novellas, linked by setting and circumstance, that is clear-eyed, evocative, humorous and true. The townland of Kilkelly is at risk of being trapped for ever in an earlier version of itself, a time when shell-shocked soldiers returned from the trenches, and convent orphans could be billeted as servants with poor farmers; a time when a glamorous Irish American finds her liberated ways mean flirting is flirting with death, and a chance meeting on a train means the postman's widow must face the past she has always sidestepped. Patrick O'Keeffe's Ireland is a precarious world where time and landscape are forceful characters, but it is also a place of natural beauty, of laughter, of family closeness, a place where stories can change lives.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 148 x 208 x 32mm | 498.96g
  • Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 0747571589
  • 9780747571582

About Patrick O'Keeffe

Patrick O'Keeffe was born and grew up in Co. Limerick, but moved to the United States in his 20s and now lives and teaches at the University of Michigan.He is working on a novel.show more

Rating details

116 ratings
3.86 out of 5 stars
5 34% (39)
4 30% (35)
3 27% (31)
2 8% (9)
1 2% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X