Hide In Place

Hide In Place

3.78 (221 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

She left the NYPD in the firestorm of a high-profile case gone horribly wrong. Three years later, the ghosts of her past roar back to terrifying life.

When NYPD undercover cop Laney Bird's cover is blown in a racketeering case against the Russian mob, she flees the city with her troubled son, Alfie. Now, three years later, she's found the perfect haven in Sylvan, a charming town in upstate New York. But then the unthinkable happens: her boy vanishes.

Local law enforcement dismisses the thirteen-year-old as a runaway, but Laney knows better. Alfie would never abandon his special routines and the sanctuary of their home. Could he have been kidnapped--or worse? As a February snowstorm rips through the region, Laney is forced to launch her own investigation, using every trick she learned in her years undercover.

As she digs deeper into the disappearance, Laney learns that Alfie and a friend had been meeting with an older man who himself vanished, but not before leaving a corpse in his garage. With dawning horror, Laney discovers that the man was a confidential informant from a high-profile case she had handled in the past. Although he had never known her real identity, he knows it now. Which means several other enemies do, too. Time is running out, and as Laney's search for her son grows more desperate, everything depends on how good a detective she really is--badge or no.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 1 pages
  • 162 x 244 x 27.94mm | 476.27g
  • United States
  • English
  • 1643856375
  • 9781643856377

Review quote

Praise for Hide in Place
"An original, satisfying roller-coaster ride for domestic suspense fans."
--Publishers Weekly

"Heaps of praise to author Naymark...A captivating story."
--New York Journal of Books

A solid thriller with a good leading character for series.
--Red Carpet Crash

"Crammed with suspense as a mother tries to overcome her panic and use her training to find her kidnapped son. A great read!"
--Andrea Kane, New York Times bestselling author of the Forensic Instinct series

Hide in Place is a fabulous thriller, but it has all the artistry of a literary masterwork.
--Russell Rowland, critically acclaimed author of Cold Country

This is a debut novel not to be missed, in particular for readers of Harlan Coben and Carol Goodman."
--Nancy Bilyeau, bestselling author of Dreamland

"A page-turning thriller that explores a single mother's desperate attempt to find her missing son with a compelling twist--she's also a former cop...Impossible to put down, Emilya Naymark's debut will leave readers hungry for more."
--Jordan Rosenfeld, author of How to Write a Page Turner and Women in Red

HIDE IN PLACE grabs you from page one.
--David Rothenberg on WBAI Radio NYC
show more

About Emilya Naymark

Emilya Naymark is the author of the novel Hide in Place, book 1 in the Sylvan series starring PI Laney Bird. Her short stories appear in A Stranger Comes to Town, edited by Michael Koryta, Secrets in the Water, After Midnight: Tales from the Graveyard Shift, River River Journal, Snowbound: Best New England Crime Stories 2017, and 1+30: THE BEST OF MYSTORY. When not writing, Emilya works as a visual artist and reads massive quantities of psychological thrillers, suspense, and crime fiction. She lives in the Hudson Valley with her family.
show more

Rating details

221 ratings
3.78 out of 5 stars
5 24% (54)
4 37% (82)
3 32% (70)
2 6% (13)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X