Hero of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens 1)

Hero of Rome (Gaius Valerius Verrens 1) : An action-packed and riveting novel of Roman adventure...

4.12 (1,673 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane, this heart-stopping historical thriller from bestselling author Douglas Jackson will have you on the edge of your seat!

"Rightly hailed as one of the best historical novelists writing today" -- DAILY EXPRESS

Readers are loving Gaius Valerius Verrens!
"This was probably the best book that I have read of this genre." - 5 STARS.
"As good as Scarrow, Riches or Scott." - 5 STARS.
"Valerius is quite addictive..." - 5 STARS .

**************************************************************
AD 59: Rome's grip on Britain is weakening. Roman cruelty and exploitation has angered their British subjects; the Druids are on the rise; the warrior queen Boudicca will lead the tribes to war.

The Roman Tribune, Gaius Valerius Verrens must lead the veteran legions at Colonia in a last stand against the rising tide of rebellion and the unstoppable horde of Boudicca's rebel army.

Can he defend his honour and the Empire he represents?

Hero of Rome is the first in Douglas Jackson's Gaius Valerius Verrens series. His story continues in Defender of Rome.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 127 x 198 x 30mm | 325g
  • Corgi Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • UK ed.
  • 0552161330
  • 9780552161336
  • 203,214

Review Text

A splendid piece of storytelling and a vivid recreation of a long-dead-world
show more

Review quote

If I were Conn Iggulden or Simon Scarrow, I'd be rather worried by the new Scottish kid on the block * The Scotsman * A master of his discipline rightly hailed as one of the best historical novelists writing today * Daily Express * A splendid piece of storytelling and a vivid recreation of a long-dead-world -- Allan Massie
show more

About Douglas Jackson

Douglas Jackson turned a lifelong fascination for Rome and the Romans into his first two novels, Caligula and Claudius. He was born in Jedburgh, in the Scottish Borders and now lives in Bridge of Allan. Hero of Rome is the first novel in a major new Roman historical action series.
show more

Rating details

1,673 ratings
4.12 out of 5 stars
5 38% (644)
4 40% (676)
3 17% (289)
2 3% (46)
1 1% (18)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X