Heritage of Music

Heritage of Music

5 (1 rating by Goodreads)
Edited by  , Edited by 

List price: US$225.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


These four illustrated volumes present a complete history of Western music from the Middle Ages to the present day. Each volume is a self-contained survey of a period, as well as an integral part of the whole. Written by distinguished authorities, Heritage of Music is designed as a work for either reference or continuous reading. Within the span of the four volumes the music of the past 300 years is discussed mainly in terms of the major composers, while these accounts are complemented by chapters on general musical developments. In addition, each volume contains a biographical dictionary of composers not covered in the main chapters, and an index for easy reference. The four volumes also feature short sections on a range of subjects that fall outside the main chapter headings. These include the history and development of particular instruments, music for ballet and theatre, and historical events which have influenced composers in specific periods. Each volume contains over 500 illustrations in colour and black and white, which bring to life the composers and musicians, and the intellectual and cultural background, and offer parallels in style between visual and musical art.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 280 pages
  • 220.98 x 281.94 x 30.48mm | 1,111.3g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • b&w and colour illustrations, bibliography, index
  • 019520493X
  • 9780195204933

Rating details

1 ratings
5 out of 5 stars
5 100% (1)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X