Heritage of Music: Classical Music and Its Origins v. 1

Heritage of Music: Classical Music and Its Origins v. 1

Edited by  , Edited by 

List price: US$60.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


"Had the Oxford University Press's four-volume 'Heritage of Music' failed in all other respects, it would still be worth the price just for the remarkable selection and vivid reproduction of the copious artwork. Happily, though, this is, on just about all counts, an impressively executed undertaking....Present[s]...its information so lucidly, informatively, effortlessly, in a fashion that can be taken piece by piece, page by page, or in mighty chunks--the choice is up to the reader--[that] we will be in a better position to monitor the future progress of the art form we have come to know as classical music."--The Christian Science Monitor
"This history of Western music, lavishly presented with hundreds of color plates and illustrations, differs from the numerous single-author encyclopedic surveys in two important ways: its various chapters are independently written by 55 scholars...and stories of composers' lives are limited to the major figures...with biographical material about others consigned to short sketches at the end of each volume. This allows the authors to dwell on important compositions, placing music in its historical and social setting....A solid achievement."--Library Journal
"If one follows the authors' suggestion to listen while reading, this series should be an autodidact's delight....Illustrations are magnificent and the varied page format keeps one turning them. Both public and undergraduate libraries."--Choice
This handsome new reference is an encyclopedic record of Western music from the Middle Ages to the present day. With a lively text and copious illustrations, each volume is a complete survey of the period it covers; together the four volumes present a history of Western music as a whole. Written by renowned musical authorities, Heritage of Music is meant for everyone who enjoys music.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 166.9 x 231.9 x 28.2mm | 716.67g
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 525 in all, 225 in colour, A-Z of composers, credits and index
  • 0195053702
  • 9780195053708

Table of contents

Introduction. Interlude - the basis of western harmony; medieval music, Albert Seay and Denis Stevens; interlude - music at the court of Emperor Maximilian; the Renaissance, Alex Harman; Monteverdi, opera and oratorio, John Whenham; Baroque music in Germany before Bach, Frederick Hudson; Baroque music in Italy, Arthur Hutchings and Eric Cross; interlude - Baroque stage machinery; the Baroque in France, Roger Blanchard and Wilfrid Mellers; interlude - Purcell and the court masque; J.S. Bach - life and works, Basil Lam; interlude - the Baroque organ; G.F. Handel - life and works, Anthony Ford; the classical style, David Wyn Jones; interlude - the orchestra in the eighteenth century; C.W. Gluck and the new opera, Julian Rushton; interlude - the keyboard concerto; W.A. Mozart - life and works, Julian Rushton; Joseph Haydn - life and works, Peter Brown. A-Z of composers, Malcolm Boyd and Brian Richardson. Credits and index.
show more