Hereward (The Hereward Chronicles: book 1)

Hereward (The Hereward Chronicles: book 1) : A gripping and action-packed novel of Norman adventure...

3.76 (1,286 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

One of England's forgotten heroes is brought back to life in this epic and thrilling high-octane adventure, perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

"The story moves at a wonderful pace...great swathes of bloodletting and a kickass arc...Great stuff." --FALCATATIMES.COM.
"I thoroughly enjoyed this book from the start..."- Reader review.
"I'm off to read the next instalment now..." - Reader review.

The last Englishman. The first freedom fighter. The forgotten hero.

1062. King Edward has no heirs and, across the sea in Normandy, William the Bastard is preparing to seize the throne.

As the King's court is rife with squabbling and scheming, the nation's hopes of resisting the Normans lie with one man: the warrior Hereward.

But Hereward has been outlawed and is on the run. Can he keep his freedom and his life in order to save the land he loves?

Hereward is the first book in James Wilde's six book Hereward series. His story continues in Hereward: The Devil's Army.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 127 x 198 x 30mm | 325g
  • Bantam Books (Transworld Publishers a division of the Random House Group)
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 055382516X
  • 9780553825169
  • 201,151

Review Text

Moves at a wonderful pace... great swathes of blood-letting and an overall kickass arc... great stuff
show more

Review quote

Fantastically realised... strong, believable characters, lashings of fast-paced action * ELOQUENTPAGE.COM * Moves at a wonderful pace... great swathes of blood-letting and an overall kickass arc... great stuff * FALCATATIMES.COM * A novel about brutal and bloody times and not for for the squeamish but Wilde has succeeded in giving new and convincing life to a half-forgotten English hero * BBC HISTORY magazine *
show more

About James Wilde

James Wilde is a Man of Mercia. Raised in a world of books, the author studied economic history at university before travelling the world in search of adventure. He first encountered the great English warrior, Hereward, in the pages of a comic. It was while visiting the haunted fenlands of Eastern England, Hereward's ancestral home, that he became convinced that this legendary figure should be the subject of his first novel. The 'Hereward' series now runs to six novels, the most recent of which is Hereward - The Bloody Crown.
James Wilde divides his time between London and the family home in Derbyshire.
show more

Rating details

1,286 ratings
3.76 out of 5 stars
5 28% (357)
4 36% (457)
3 25% (324)
2 8% (106)
1 3% (42)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X