Here We Are Now
24%
off

Here We Are Now : A heartfelt and uplifting novel from the bestselling author of MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES

3.52 (1,286 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'Funny and heartfelt... fans of Sarah Dessen or Rainbow Rowell will adore this novel' - Culturefly

'Fans of High Fidelity and Nick + Nora, get your hands on this book ASAP' - Popsugar

Despite sending him letters ever since she was thirteen, Taliah Abdallat never thought she'd ever really meet Julian Oliver. But one day, while her mother is out of the country, the famed rock star from Staring Into the Abyss shows up on her doorstep. This makes sense - kinda - because it turns out Julian Oliver is Taliah's father...

When Julian asks her to go with him to his hometown to meet the family she has never known, Taliah embarks on a three-day voyage of discovery - of her father, of the past her mother has never shared with her, and of herself.

From the bestselling author of MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES, this is a beautiful and heartwarming novel of music, family, and friendship.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 18mm | 213g
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1444791788
  • 9781444791785
  • 334,284

Review quote

It has a plot driven by music but becomes a page turner thanks to the ultrarelatable love story contained within it. Fans of High Fidelity and Nick + Nora, get your hands on this book ASAP * Popsugar * This timely, multicultural novel hits all the right notes in the right ways * VOYA * An intense family drama that will pull readers in with poignancy, romance, and grief over lost relationships, all set to the beat of scattered song lyrics -- Booklist Intriguing, romantic, and honest * Publishers Weekly * A well-executed family drama of the power of romantic and parental love, secrets, regrets, and new beginnings * Kirkus Reviews * 'This delicately handled and intimate portrayal of adolescent angst is an uplifting affirmation of the power of love and forgiveness to heal and restore. It's a brave and exciting debut novel that addresses an important issue with wit, compassion and authentic teenage voices' * Daily Mail * 'This book proved hard to put down - both characters had my heart aching for them' -- Book Club Forum 'Powerful...sucked me right in' -- The Book Bag 'A stunning and haunting depiction of depression - you really feel Aysel's numbness. I had to take 'emotional recovery' breaks while reading it. My Heart And Other Black Holes handles the sensitive topic of suicide expertly, with absolutely no patronizing or glamorization. And yet, the book leaves you with such a warm feeling of hope. It's a remarkable achievement' -- Holly Bourne, author of Soulmates 'Earnest and heartfelt . . . any teen who's ever felt like an outsider will be able to relate to Aysel's and Roman's fully realized characters' * Kirkus Reviews * 'Kinetic and beautiful and unexpectedly life-affirming' -- Chris Lynch, author of Inexcusable 'A striking new voice in YA fiction' -- Nova Ren Suma, author of Imaginary Girls Praise for My Heart and Other Black Holes * : *
show more

About Jasmine Warga

Jasmine Warga lives in Mariemont, Ohio with her husband, Greg, a cat named Salvador Dali, and a puppy named Scout. She was born and raised just outside of Cincinnati, and spent her days making up stories, listening to emotive music, staring up at the night sky, and reading. She graduated from Northwestern University with a B.A. in History and Art History, and went on to teach 6th grade science at a school in Houston, Texas. In June 2013, she received a Master's in Fine Arts in Creative Writing from Lesley University. Her debut novel, My Heart and Other Black Holes, published to rave reviews from the YA community. Here We Are Now is her second novel.
show more

Rating details

1,286 ratings
3.52 out of 5 stars
5 15% (194)
4 35% (452)
3 39% (503)
2 9% (115)
1 2% (22)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X