Here There are Monsters
6%
off

Here There are Monsters

3.34 (978 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A bone-chilling read about creating monsters, sisterhood turned toxic, and secrets that won't stay buried, perfect for fans of The Night She Disappeared, Wilder Girls, and The Blair Witch Project.

Sixteen-year-old Skye is done playing the knight in shining armor for her insufferable younger sister, Deirdre. And moving across the country seems like the perfect chance to start over as someone different.

In their isolated new neighborhood, Skye manages to fit in, but Deirdre withdraws from everyone, becoming fixated on the swampy woods behind their house and building monstrous sculptures out of sticks and bones.

Then Deirdre disappears.

And when something awful comes scratching at Skye's window in the middle of the night, claiming Skye's the only one who can save Deirdre, Skye knows she will stop at nothing to bring her sister home.

A great buy for readers who want:

young adult horror booksthe teen girl book best sellers of 2018creepy stories

Praise for Here There Are Monsters:
"Thick with atmosphere and tension, Here There Are Monsters does what fairy tales do: it edifies as it terrifies."--Foreword *STARRED REVIEW*
"Seamlessly executed... an intricate, subtle, and deeply unsettling read."--Kirkus
"Dark and eerie with just the right amount of creepiness...perfect for any fan of young adult horror."--School Library Journal
"Everything and everyone reeks of malice while nothing and no one can be trusted--perfect conditions for a compelling YA horror."--Shelf Awareness
"The horror of this creepy tale rests upon an increasing sense of inevitability and powerlessness against the spirit entities that inhabit the woods."--BCCB

Also by Amelinda Bérubé
The Dark Beneath the Ice
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 25.4mm | 362.87g
  • Sourcebooks Fire
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 1492671010
  • 9781492671015
  • 58,750

Review quote

"Seamlessly executed... an intricate, subtle, and deeply unsettling read." - Kirkus Reviews
show more

Rating details

978 ratings
3.34 out of 5 stars
5 14% (141)
4 30% (298)
3 35% (344)
2 15% (145)
1 5% (50)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X