Her Mother's Secret

Her Mother's Secret

4.26 (893 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

PRAISE FOR NATASHA LESTER...

'A fantastically engrossing story. I love it' KELLY RIMMER
'Intrigue, heartbreak... I cannot tell you how much I loved this book' RACHEL BURTON
'A gorgeously rich and romantic novel' KATE FORSYTH

Her Mother's Secret is the story of a brave young woman chasing her dream against society's disapproval, perfect for fans of Gill Paul, Kate Furnivall and Penny Vincenzi.
*********

1918, England.
Armistice Day should bring peace into Leonora East's life. Rather than making cosmetics secretly in her father's chemist shop, Leo hopes to now display her wares openly. Instead, Spanish flu arrives in the village, claiming her father's life. Determined to start over she boards a ship to New York City, where she meets debonair department store heir Everett Forsyth . . .

1939, New York City.
Everett's daughter, Alice, a promising ballerina, receives a mysterious letter inviting her to star in a series of advertisements for a cosmetics line. If she accepts she will be immortalized like dancers such as Zelda Fitzgerald, Josephine Baker and Ginger Rogers. Why, then, are her parents so quick to forbid it?


MORE PRAISE FOR NATASHA LESTER...

'If you enjoy historical fiction (and even if you don't) you will love this book' Sally Hepworth
'Stunning . . . Will have you captivated' Liz Byrski
'This romance will have you enchanted' Woman's Day
'Natasha Lester is our generation's Louisa May Alcott' Tess Woods
'What a GEM!' Sara Foster
'Natasha Lester brings bold, brave women to life' Courier Mail
'I love this book' Rachael Johns
'Exquisite!' Vanessa Carnevale
'Engaging' Herald Sun
'An essential addition to Australian fiction' AusRomToday
'Utterly compelling' Good Reading
'Emotion that will touch your heart and soul deeply' Jodi Gibson
'Fascinating, evocative and meticulously researched' Annabel Abbs
'Entertaining and provocative' Perth Festival
'Lester has woven a fine, original story of everlasting quality.' BetterReading
'A captivating tale' Daily Examiner
'A delightful and multi-faceted romp through the jazz era' Natalie Salvo
'Excellent historical fiction' The Book Muse
'You will love this even if you're not a regular reader of historical fiction' Jess Just Reads
'Storytelling at its finest' Great Reads & Tea Leaves
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 124 x 194 x 28mm | 260g
  • Sphere
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0751573108
  • 9780751573107
  • 26,853

Review Text

Natasha Lester's engaging writing style and ability to create characters that connect with readers make her a welcome addition to the historical fiction market. Herald Sun
show more

Review quote

Natasha Lester's engaging writing style and ability to create characters that connect with readers make her a welcome addition to the historical fiction market. * Herald Sun * If you enjoy historical fiction (and even if you don't) you will love this book -- SALLY HEPWORTH * bestselling author of The Family Next Door * Had me at page one. This book should come with a 'Do Not Disturb' sign -- VANESSA CARNEVALE * author of The Memories of Us * Lester's storytelling is truly captivating * AUSROM TODAY * Vivid detail . . . Utterly compelling * Good Reading * A delightful and multi-faceted romp through the jazz era . . . Her Mother's Secret is a sweeping historical saga about an inspiring woman tackling society's expectations head on, war paint and all -- NATALIE SALVO A strong-willed, determined heroine whose journey is as interesting, as it is inspiring -- JODI GIBSON
show more

About Natasha Lester

Natasha Lester worked as a marketing executive for L'Oreal, managing the Maybelline brand, before returning to university to study creative writing. She completed a Master of Creative Arts and has written several novels including A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald, Her Mother's Secret, The Paris Seamstress and The French Photographer. Her seventh novel, The Paris Secret, will be published in March 2020.

In her spare time Natasha loves to teach writing, is a sought after public speaker and can often be found playing dress-up with her three children. She lives in Perth.

For all the latest news from Natasha visit:
www.natashalester.com.au
Twitter: @Natasha_Lester
Instagram: natashalester
Facebook: NatashaLesterAuthor
show more

Rating details

893 ratings
4.26 out of 5 stars
5 46% (415)
4 38% (335)
3 12% (111)
2 3% (25)
1 1% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X