He for the Haunted
5%
off

He for the Haunted

3.6 (12,218 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 10 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

John Searles's Help for the Haunted is an unforgettable story of a most unusual family, their deep secrets, their harrowing tragedy, and ultimately, a daughter's discovery of a dark and unexpected mystery.

Sylvie Mason's parents have an unusual occupation--helping "haunted souls" find peace. After receiving a strange phone call one winter's night, they leave the house and are later murdered in an old church in a horrifying act of violence.

A year later, Sylvie is living in the care of her older sister, who may be to blame for what happened to their parents. Now, the inquisitive teenager pursues the mystery, moving closer to the knowledge of what occurred that night--and to the truth about her family's past and the secrets that have haunted them for years.

Capturing the vivid eeriness of Stephen King's works with the compelling quirkiness of John Irving's beloved novels, Help for the Haunted is that rare story that brings to life a richly imagined and wholly original world.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 619 pages
  • 152.4 x 228.6 x 35.56mm | 657.71g
  • New York
  • English
  • Large type / large print
  • Large type / large print edition
  • 0062253735
  • 9780062253736
  • 832,316

Black Friday Deals Week

Check out this week's discounts for Black Friday Deals Week. Shop now .

Back cover copy

When young Sylvie Mason and her mother and father are lured to an old church on the outskirts of town, she has no idea that the night will end with her parents' murders. As the narrative weaves back and forth through the years leading up to the crime and the months following, Sylvie searches for answers and uncovers secrets that have haunted her family for years.
show more

Review quote

[Searles] has crafted a strange, spooky world that is absolutely believable. Sweet, precocious, desperate Sylvie is a memorable young striver in the tradition of Scout Finch, and HELP FOR THE HAUNTED is an exceptional piece of storytelling. --Washington Post"
show more

Rating details

12,218 ratings
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 18% (2,233)
4 38% (4,621)
3 32% (3,926)
2 9% (1,121)
1 3% (317)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X