Hello Goodbye
25%
off

Hello Goodbye

3.15 (730 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Tender. . . . Chenoweth'saffectionate style works marvelously, capturing the decadence of youth." --NewYork Times

Ina single week, one family leaves behind its past as a daughter awakens to a newfuture, in Emily Chenoweth's intimate and beautifully crafted debut novel oflove, loss, and learning to start over. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Haigh's The Condition, Susan Minot's Evening, and Kim Edwards' The Memory Keeper's Daughter, Hello Goodbye isat once an intimate coming-of-age tale and a solemn, elegiac exploration oflife's passage. Elle magazine calls Hello Goodbye "A tenderode to empathy. . . . Every page of this book serves as an affirmation of theterrible, wrenching beauty of life."
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 273 pages
  • 134.62 x 198.12 x 22.86mm | 226.8g
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 006203460X
  • 9780062034601
  • 1,527,867

Review quote

[Chenoweth] writes gracefully and eloquently of loss and love, portraying both generations at their most self-absorbed and most vulnerable. --Library Journal on Hello Goodbye"
show more

Back cover copy

In the summer after her freshman year of college, Abby Hansen embarks on what might be a final vacation with her parents to a historic resort in northern New Hampshire. The Presidential Hotel, with its stately rooms and old-fashioned dress code, seems almost unbearably stuffy to Abby, but the young, free-spirited hotel staff offers her the chance for new friendships, and maybe even romance.

However, for her parents, Elliott and Helen, their time spent together in the shadow of the White Mountains has taken on a deeper meaning. By inviting family friends to join them, they open their marriage up to a lifetime of confessions, and they must confront a secret about Helen's health that they have been hiding from their daughter.

Heartbreaking and luminous, Hello Goodbye deftly explores a family's struggle with love and loss, as a summer vacation becomes an occasion for awakening.
show more

Rating details

730 ratings
3.15 out of 5 stars
5 8% (62)
4 28% (203)
3 39% (285)
2 20% (143)
1 5% (37)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X