In a Heartbeat

In a Heartbeat

4.1 (3,356 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

For fans of Gabrielle Zevin and Lurlene McDaniel, In a Heartbeat explores the ties of family and the weight of regret when a mistake costs Eagan her life during a figure-skating competition. Left in the afterlife, reflecting on what she could have done differently, Eagan's still-beating heart is given to Amelia who has been waiting patiently for a transplant. When their thought, feelings, and dreams begin to mysteriously overlap, Amelia knows she must search for Eagan's family and find a way to give them all the closure they need move on. Praise for In a Heartbeat: "[A] dramatic story of loss and second chances. . . a highly satisfying read." -Booklist "Readers will likely come away teary-eyed and inspired." -Publishers Weeklyshow more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 224 pages
  • 142.24 x 210.82 x 25.4mm | 340.19g
  • Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • WALKER & CO
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0802720684
  • 9780802720689
  • 609,323

About Loretta Ellsworth

LORETTA ELLSWORTH is the author of In a Heartbeat, The Shrouding Woman, and In Search of Mockingbird, which was a Midwest Bookseller's Spring/Summer pick and won the 2007 Midwest Bookseller's Choice Award Honor Book for Children's Literature. www.lorettaellsworth.comshow more

Our customer reviews

IN A HEARTBEAT by Loretta Ellsworth is an emotional story about organ donation. Fourteen-year-old Amelia has been battling with having a bad heart for years, until the day she learns that it is her turn for a transplant. And this is due to the fact that sixteen-year-old Eagan has had a tragic accident doing the thing she loves most in life - figure skating competitively. The story is told in alternating viewpoints. One chapter is told from Amelia's view about what it was like to live with a failing heart and then how she changed after she received the new one, and then from Eagan's side as she looks back at memories from her life. Growing up, I always loved reading stories by Lurlene McDaniel about teens with terminal illnesses or health problems. They always pulled at my heartstrings and made me cry. So when I read the summary of IN A HEARTBEAT and saw that it was about teens and organ donation, I jumped at the chance to read it. While I enjoyed the characters, I didn't really connect with them. I feel that Eagan was a better-written character, as we get to know her through flashbacks of her memories. And her story is wrapped up at the end. But I don't feel like we really get to know Amelia except that she was sick and she loved to draw horses. And it feels like her story suddenly stops at the end. The book was relatively short - only 195 pages. I feel that there could have been more from Amelia's point of view to connect with her better. That being said, the idea for the plot is original (to me at least). I loved the theme of organ donation and that the transplant recipients might have characteristics from the donor's personality after the surgery. It's such an interesting idea and it really makes you think!show more
by TeensReadToo
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X