The Haunting of Henry Davis
22%
off

The Haunting of Henry Davis

3.46 (47 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Two kids are about to find out that their lives are anything but ordinary when a ghost arrives and stirs up adventure. Perfect for fans of A Tale Dark and Grimm! Ghosts only haunt when they've left something behind...
When Henry Davis moves into the neighborhood, Barbara Anne and her classmates at Washington Carver Elementary don't know what to make of him. He's pale, small, odd. For curious Barbara Anne, Henry's also a riddle--a boy who sits alone at recess sketching in a mysterious notebook, a boy, she soon learns, who's being haunted by a ghost named Edgar. With the help of some new friends, this unlikely duo is off on an adventure to discover who Edgar was while alive and why he's haunting Henry now. Together, they might just help Edgar find what he needs to finally be at peace.
show more

Product details

Review quote

"Convincing, humorous, warm, and definitely spooky." --Kirkus Reviews "By turns hilarious and macabre, this serves up chills, laughs, and even some life lessons through the antics of an unlikely group of friends." --Booklist "With haunting events, a ghost with an interesting backstory, and a problem left unsolved in the wraith's past life, this very readable novel has all the staples of a classic ghost story, and fans of the genre won't be disappointed." --The Bulletin "Siebel's writing is filled with clever turns of phrase ("this was as voluntary as a fire drill"), and Barbara Anne's limited sense of self-awareness makes her an amusing narrator." -The Horn Book
show more

About Kathryn Siebel

Kathryn Siebel teaches humanities at Billings Middle School in Seattle and works with elementary school students at the Green Lake School-Age Care Program. She has worked in educational publishing and as an English teacher and librarian and has an MFA from the Iowa Writers' Workshop. She is also the author of The Trouble with Twins.
show more

Rating details

47 ratings
3.46 out of 5 stars
5 13% (6)
4 38% (18)
3 32% (15)
2 17% (8)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X