Hating Olivia
29%
off

Hating Olivia : A Love Story

3.54 (251 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"A book of quiet horrors and beautifully expressed longing. . . . SaFranko's prose is precise, flawless, and the work of a man who truly loves and understands great writing." --Tony O'Neill, author of Sick City and Down and Out on Murder Mile

"SaFranko writes from the heart, and the balls, crafting a furious and passionate piece of work that is entirely his own, with some scenes that would make even Bukowski blush." --Susan Tomaselli, editor of Dogmatika.com

Hating Olivia is acclaimed underground author Mark SaFranko's darkly twisted story of two people's descent into sex, obsession, and mutual destruction. A gritty confessional tale, Hating Olivia is sure to appeal to fans of Charles Bukowski, John Fante, and Huburt Selby, Jr.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 132.08 x 200.66 x 22.86mm | 249.47g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • New
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0061979198
  • 9780061979194
  • 1,040,027

Black Friday Deals Week

Check out this week's discounts for Black Friday Deals Week. Shop now .

Back cover copy

Max Zajack's life is cheap rooms, dead-end jobs, and suicidal fantasies until he meets the alluring and mysterious Olivia Aphrodite, and everything goes to hell.

Max is a struggling musician and wannabe writer. His life is in a rut until one night, while playing a gig at a local club, he gazes out into the crowd and sees Olivia. Before long, they are sharing a bed and host of dark vices that begin to consume them. Their love turns toxic, sending them spiraling downward toward the inevitable. Violently romantic, viscerally honest, Hating Olivia is the story of two loners whose obsessive love brings them to the edge of destruction.
show more

Review quote

"Hating Olivia is a novel about youth, passion and irresponsibility....If your literary taste runs to writers like Henry Miller and Charles Bukowski, Celine and Anais Nin, Hating Olivia is a novel you'll like."--BlogCritics.org
show more

Rating details

251 ratings
3.54 out of 5 stars
5 24% (59)
4 33% (82)
3 25% (63)
2 12% (30)
1 7% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X