Harmony in Haydn and Mozart

Harmony in Haydn and Mozart

By (author) 

List price: US$140.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Integrating Schenkerian tools and an innovative approach to harmony, David Damschroder provides numerous penetrating analyses of works by Haydn and Mozart. A series of introductory chapters assist readers in developing their analytical capacity. Beginning with short excerpts from string quartets, the study proceeds by assessing the inner workings of twelve expositions from Haydn piano sonatas, six arias in G minor from Mozart operas, and three rondos in D major from piano concertos by Haydn and Mozart. In the Masterworks section that follows, Damschroder presents detailed analyses of six movements from symphonies, string quartets and opera by Haydn and Mozart, and compares his outcomes with those of other analysts, including Kofi Agawu, Robert O. Gjerdingen, James Hepokoski and Warren Darcy, Carl Schachter and James Webster. The book represents an important contribution to modern analytical discourse on a treasured body of music and an assessment of recent accomplishments within that realm.
show more

Product details

  • Electronic book text
  • Cambridge University Press (Virtual Publishing)
  • Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 150 music examples
  • 1139178059
  • 9781139178051

Review quote

"In this highly specialized and uniquely reasoned book, Damschroder (Univ. of Minnesota) attempts to establish a logic for Haydn and Mozart's harmonic language." -W.E. Grim, Choice
show more

Table of contents

Preface; Part I. Methodological Orientation: 1. Harmonic practice in the late eighteenth century: twelve excerpts from string quartets by Haydn and Mozart; 2. Anatomy of the I-II#-V two-part exposition: twelve keyboard sonatas by Haydn; 3. Composition in a minor key: six arias in G minor from operas by Mozart; 4. The happy ending: three sonata-rondos in D major from piano concertos by Haydn and Mozart; Part II. Masterpieces: 5. Haydn: Symphony No. 45 in F# Minor ('Farewell'), movement 2: in response to James Webster; 6. Haydn: String Quartet in G Minor (op. 20, no. 3), movement 3: in response to Robert O. Gjerdingen; 7. Mozart: String Quintet in C Major (K. 515), movement 1: in response to Kofi Agawu and Michael Spitzer; 8. Mozart: Don Giovanni (K. 527), Act I, Scene 13: Donna Anna's Recitative and Aria: in response to Carl Schachter; 9. Mozart: Symphony in G Minor (K. 550), movement 3, Trio: in response to Leonard B. Meyer; 10. Haydn: Symphony No. 96 in D Major ('Miracle'), movement 1: in response to Warren Darcy, James Hepokoski and Lauri Suurpaa; Select bibliography; Index of works by Haydn and by Mozart; Index of names and concepts.
show more