Hard Country

Hard Country

4.03 (1,061 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$28.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A richly authentic epic adventure of rough-hewn men and courageous women, set in the hard country of the American Southwest frontier. "Hard Country" is a rare and extraordinary story of one family's struggle to settle and endure in the vast, untamed territory of New Mexico. In the wake of the death of his wife as she gives birth to his son, and the killing of his brother on the West Texas plains, John Kerney is forced to give up his ranch, leave his son behind, and strike out in search of the murderous outlaws and a place where he can start over. He drifts south until he meets a man who offers him work trailing cattle to the New Mexico Territory and forever changes his life. Spanning the years of 1875 to 1918, "Hard Country" is the Western reinvented and enlarged into a saga that above all celebrates the people and the land of the great Southwest.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 607 pages
  • 154.94 x 231.14 x 53.34mm | 861.82g
  • Dutton Books
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0525952462
  • 9780525952466
  • 1,696,924

Review quote

"As anyone familiar with his excellent crime novels knows, Michael McGarrity really gets--and loves--the Southwest: Its colors, its rhythms, its blessings, its cussedness. Here McGarrity moves back in time to explore New Mexico's frontier past and in the process gives us something most unusual these days: An expansive, lyrical, period Western in the tradition of A.B. Guthrie, Jr. and Larry McMurtry. Savor this one--they don't make cowboy epics like this anymore."--Hampton Sides, bestselling author of "Ghost Soldiers "and "Blood and Thunder"show more

About Michael McGarrity

Michael McGarrity is author of the Anthony Award-nominated Tularosa, Mexican Hat, Serpent Gate, Hermit's Peak, The Judas Judge, Under the Color of Law, and The Big Gamble. A former deputy sheriff for Santa Fe County, he established the first Sex Crimes Unit. He has also served as an instructor at the New Mexico Law Enforcement Academy and as an investigator for the New Mexico Public Defender's Office.show more

Rating details

1,061 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 35% (368)
4 42% (443)
3 18% (187)
2 5% (48)
1 1% (15)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X