Happy Days of the Grump

Happy Days of the Grump : The feel-good bestseller perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove

3.71 (703 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A funny, uplifting and life-affirming tale of grumpiness, perfect if you loved A Man Called Ove, Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry or The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 831/4 Years Old.

Everyone knows a Grump . . .

The Grump, at eighty years old, is more focused on death than life; building his own coffin and keen to write his will in ink - who can trust technology, after all? - he knows that everything was much better in the old days.

But when the Grump finds himself in hospital after falling down his basement steps, his life passes before his eyes. Thinking of the people closest to him and reflecting on the changes to the world, he starts to see the things a little differently. But can an old Grump learn new love?

With warm humour and a loving look at family and relationships, The Happy Days of the Grump is sure to bring a smile to even the grumpiest faces.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 256 pages
  • 130 x 200 x 20mm | 170g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1786580268
  • 9781786580269
  • 51,350

Review quote

It was different, but good. Overall this book was a fun read * Maureen's Books * The most enjoyable aspect of Happy Days of the Grump was the fact that it made me laugh aloud, which I rarely do when reading, and nod frantically in agreement right the way through. It rewards the reader with a life affirming set of guidelines that we would all do well to live by. I heartily recommend it * Linda's Bookbag * 'a life reflection read which has the charm to put a smile on anyone - even a grump' * Blooming Fiction * 'I found it a heart warming story, it dealt with serious issues but there was a bit of comical on the side.' * Echoes in an Empty Room * 'It's fair to say that in the end I did become addicted to 'Happy Days Of The Grump' because I just had to read on to find out what became of The Grump and if he carried out his aims. This book certainly had me chuckling out loud and nodding in agreement' * Ginger Book Geek * What can one say but it was a job well done and I am looking forward to what comes next from this author * Sean Book Reviews * This is a quirky and idiosyncratic read with a definite voice of its own. It took some pages to get into that voice but when I did, the pages flew by. The Grump could be so many people who I have met and I loved the originality of the story. Full of humanity and a wry sense of humour * Books Life and Everything *
show more

About Tuomas Kyrö

Tuomas Kyroe is one of the new voices in Finnish literature, whose talents were first showcased in his debut novel, Leather Jacket. Kyroe draws on the long tradition of Finnish prose to tell compelling, even tragic stories with great authority. He is also a prolific cartoonist and columnist.
show more

Rating details

703 ratings
3.71 out of 5 stars
5 18% (127)
4 42% (292)
3 34% (237)
2 6% (44)
1 0% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X