Happiness for Humans
20%
off

Happiness for Humans : the quirky romantic comedy for anyone looking for their soulmate

3.73 (1,572 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'Loved this book. Funny, quirky, unexpected' Jojo Moyes
'Very clever and great fun' Kate Eberlen
'Bridget Jones' diary for the digital age' Daily Record

Happiness for Humans is a joyful, romantic and very funny story, perfect for readers who loved The Rosie Project and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

Do you believe in soulmates?

Aiden does. So when his colleague, Jen, is dumped unceremoniously by her dreadful boyfriend, Aiden decides to take matters - and Jen's life - into his own hands.

Scouring the internet for a suitable partner for Jen, Aiden finds Tom. He'd be perfect for Jen apart from one minor detail: Tom lives in New York.

Luckily for Jen and Tom, Aiden's not just an interfering colleague. In fact, Aiden isn't exactly human - he's a very complicated artificial intelligence.

As Jen and Tom's romance grows, Aiden begins to take more and more risks to make sure that they can be together. But what will happen if they realise how they met...and that somebody else is pulling the strings?

'This is Jane Austen's Emma for the digital age' - Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks

'So funny, clever and timely. I loved it' - Martha Kearney

'This clever novel will appeal to David Nicholls fans. It's witty and great fun' - Daily Mail

'This funny, madcap romp for the digital-age, featuring believably flawed characters (not all human), deserves to be a hit... like David Nicholls' One Day or Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, it should appeal to male and female readers.' - Sunday Times

'The most charming book I've read in ages' - Image magazine

'You'll love this quirky, brilliantly funny love story... If you use Siri, Alexa or Google Assistant, prepare to have your heart warmed - and be a little bit scared!' - Fabulous magazine

'This screwball comedy is touching and hilarious' - Sunday Mirror

'One of the most uplifting and romantic novels I've read in a long time' - Sarra Manning, Red magazine

'Funny and clever' - Good Housekeeping

Humans meets The Rosie Project . . . A real smiler of a book - Nina Pottell, Prima
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 448 pages
  • 126 x 196 x 24mm | 300g
  • Sphere
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0751566721
  • 9780751566727
  • 69,025

Review Text

Loved this book. Funny, quirky, unexpected Jojo Moyes
show more

Review quote

I am by no means alone in thinking that this funny, madcap romp for the digital-age, featuring believably flawed characters (not all human), deserves to be a hit. Rights have been sold in 26 territories and Working Title and Fox 2000 have a Film option on what could be Sleepless in Seattle meets The Lobster. One of the factors in its favour is that, like David Nicholls' One Day or Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, it should appeal to male and female readers. * Sunday Times * This clever novel will appeal to David Nicholls fans. It's witty and great fun * Daily Mail * A frothy rom-com in literary form...a broad and madcap love story...charming * Kirkus Reviews * One of the most unique love stories ever written, this novel blends the ethereal concepts of true love and fate with a thoughtful examination of the risks and worries of artificial intelligence. * RT Book Reviews * A sort of Shakespearean comedy of errors but instead of the gods there are rogue AIs seeking to meddle in the affairs of humans. Great fun. * The Bookseller * An original and thought-provoking little gem * Sunday Sport * reads a bit like a Richard Curtis screenplay adapted from the works of Arthur C Clarke... Clever but unpretentious, this book is both a light-hearted confection that will leave you with a warm glow and a chilling vision of things to come -- Jake Kerridge * Sunday Express * Fun, romantic, original, with a clever and sinister twist -- Fanny Blake * Woman and Home * Humans meets The Rosie Project . . . A real smiler of a book -- Nina Pottell * Prima * One of the most uplifting and romantic novels I've read in a long time -- Sarra Manning * Red magazine * This screwball comedy is touching and hilarious * Sunday Mirror * Bridget Jones' diary for the digital age * Daily Record * A sweet romantic comedy that asks what it really means to be happy (and also takes a gentle look at the scary idea of technology taking over our lives) * Stylist * A smart, warm fiction and the ultimate curl-up read... the most charming book I've read in ages * Image * You'll love this quirky, brilliantly funny love story... If you use Siri, Alexa or Google Assistant, prepare to have your heart warmed - and be a little bit scared! * Fabulous * It's refreshing to read such a positive, funny and warm story about the potential of artificial intelligence. These computer programs don't want to destroy humanity, they want to watch soppy films and help people fall in love. This is Jane Austen's Emma for the digital era. -- Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks Very clever and great fun -- Kate Eberlen, bestselling author of Miss You So funny, clever and timely. I loved it. -- Martha Kearney an absolute joy to read... Hilarious and exceedingly relatable -- Carrie Hope Fletcher Loved this book. Funny, quirky, unexpected -- Jojo Moyes
show more

About P. Z. Reizin

P.Z. Reizin worked as a journalist and producer in newspapers, radio and television before turning to writing. He has been involved in several Internet startup ventures, none of which went on to trouble Google, Twitter or Facebook. He is married with a daughter and lives in London.
show more

Rating details

1,572 ratings
3.73 out of 5 stars
5 23% (365)
4 39% (608)
3 29% (456)
2 7% (108)
1 2% (35)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X