The Hanging Garden

The Hanging Garden

4.07 (7,815 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback
By (author) 

List price: US$13.16

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


A tense and complex thriller featuring inspector John Rebus - the latest novel from the CWA Macallan Gold Dagger for fiction awardwinning team - hardcover edition reprinted within 2 weeks of publication. Rebus is buried under a pile of paperwork generated by his investigations into a possible war criminal resident in Edinburgh. His immediate superiors are more than happy to have him tucked away in a quiet backwater for several months looking into ancient history. But the crime squad are forced to bring him back to the present day when a young upstart gangster, Tommy Telford, muscles in on Big Ger Cafferty's turf and Rebus's local knowledge becomes essential to the efforts to shut down Telford's business as a drug dealer, pimp and extortionist. Telford is known to have close links with a Newcastle gangster nicknamed ' Mr Pink Eyes' - a Chechen bringing Bosnian women into Britain as prostitutes. And when Rebus takes under his wing a young Bosnian vice girl it gives him 1 more reason to drive Telford into the ground.When his daughter, Sammy, is the victim of an all too professional hit and run, Rebus knows that there is nothinghe wouldn't do to bring down prime suspect Tommy Telford - even if it means doing a deal with the notorious Cafferty.
Before he can act the waters are muddied further when the war criminal is found hanging in Warriston cemetary - now it's a murder investigation and it looks very much like it is linked to Cafferty, Telford and the whole sick crew.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 152 x 234 x 28mm | 500g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 0752821261
  • 9780752821269

About Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into twenty-two languages and are bestsellers on several continents. Ian Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He is the recipient of four Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. In 2004, Ian won America's celebrated Edgar Award for 'Resurrection Men'. He has also been shortlisted for the Edgar and Anthony Awards in the USA, and won Denmark's Palle Rosenkrantz Prize, the French Grand Prix du Roman Noir and the Deutscher Krimipreis. Ian Rankin is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews and Edinburgh. A contributor to BBC2's 'Newsnight Review', he also presented his own TV series, 'Ian Rankin's Evil Thoughts'. He recently received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons.
show more

Rating details

7,815 ratings
4.07 out of 5 stars
5 31% (2,419)
4 48% (3,737)
3 19% (1,485)
2 2% (141)
1 0% (33)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X