Hand Me Down

Hand Me Down

3.61 (651 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$25.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, "Hand Me Down" is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all. Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes. Their father, who'd rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.A string of broken promises that begins with Liz's mother swearing, "I would never hurt you, Liz. You're family," propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?Thorne writes with a command of language that is at once affecting and enticing. Her debut is the kind of voice-driven reading experience fiction lovers crave.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 311 pages
  • 149.86 x 210.82 x 35.56mm | 408.23g
  • Dutton Books
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0525952683
  • 9780525952688

Review quote

"Thorne deals sensitively with a difficult topic, and the novel's adolescent perspective is sure to find popularity with YA audiences." -"Library Journal "show more

About Melanie Thorne

Melanie Thorne earned her MA in creative writing from the University of California, Davis, where she was awarded the Alva Englund Fellowship and the Maurice Prize in Fiction. She lives in northern California.show more

Rating details

651 ratings
3.61 out of 5 stars
5 18% (115)
4 37% (242)
3 36% (234)
2 8% (49)
1 2% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X