4.43 (1,693 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author)  , Narrator 

List price: US$29.95

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


The Halo series is explosive military science fiction at its best. These first three titles The Fall of Reach, The Flood, and First Strike chronicle the bloody Human-Covenant War on Halo. The Fall of Reach finds the Covenant, a powerful alien enemy determined to wipe out humankind, working to lead humans into a devastating intergalactic war on the distant planet Reach a planet that is crucial to each side's victory. But Reach holds a closely guarded secret: It is the training ground for the very first "super soldiers," code-named SPARTANs. And as the ferocious Covenant attack begins, a handful of SPARTANs stand ready to wage ultimate war. They will kill, they will be destroyed, but they will never surrender. And at least one of them the SPARTAN known as Master Chief will live to fight another day on a mysterious and ancient, artificial world called Halo. The Human-Covenant War reaches its boiling point on the mysterious ring world called Halo in The Flood. Captain Keyes, his crew of a few hundred marines, and the Master Chief flee the carnage in a cruiser and crash-land on Halo. Built by a long-dead race, Halo harbors many deadly secrets, but one overshadows them all. Now the Master Chief leads the scattered troops in a brutal race to unravel Halo's darkest mystery and unleash its greatest source of power. In First Strike, it falls to the Spartan known as the Master Chief to rescue survivors and evade the Covenant ships patrolling the remains of Halo in debris-strewn space. Ahead lies a dangerous voyage home through a gauntlet of Covenant forces. For the sake of all, the Master Chief and his war-torn squad must not only survive but take the fight to the enemy with a decisive first strike."show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 139.7 x 165.1 x 43.18mm | 136.08g
  • Tantor Media, Inc
  • Old Saybrook, CT, United States
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged edition
  • 1400120314
  • 9781400120314
  • 1,260,878

Review quote

"The narration by multitalented Todd McLaren...is flexible and intense across all three titles." ---Library Journal Audio Reviewshow more

About Eric S. Nylund

William C. Dietz is the author of more than thirty novels, including "Legion of the Damned," "Deathday," and "Earthrise." Eric Nylund is the author of many novels, including "A Signal Shattered," "Crimson Skies," and "Dry Water," which was a World Fantasy Award nominee. Former radio broadcaster Todd McLaren has been heard on more than 5,000 TV and radio commercials; narrations for documentaries on such networks as A&E and the History Channel; and films. His book narrations have earned him a prestigious Audie Award as well as a "Publishers Weekly" Listen-Up Award.show more

Rating details

1,693 ratings
4.43 out of 5 stars
5 61% (1,027)
4 26% (439)
3 11% (180)
2 2% (33)
1 1% (14)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X