The Gunner Girl

The Gunner Girl

4.11 (132 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Perfect reading for fans of Katie Flynn, Margaret Dickinson and Ellie Dean! Meet the Gunner Girls - three women with one shared ambition: to join the ATS and do their bit for King and country. Bea has grown up part of a large, boisterous Kent family. But she hasn't heard from her soldier sweetheart in months and her mother is controlling her life. She needs to take charge of her future. Edie inhabits a world of wealth and privilege, but knows only too well that money can't buy happiness. She wants to be like Winston Churchill's daughter, Mary, to make a difference. Joan can't remember anything of her past or her family, and her home has been bombed in the Blitz. Desperate, she needs a refuge. Each one is a Gunner Girl: three very different women, one remarkable wartime friendship of shared hopes, lost loves and terrible danger. 'Will delight all those who love a good wartime story' Dilly Court 'An irresistible tale of friendship, love and heartache during WW2 that had me enthralled' Kate Furnivall 'Heart-warming, enjoyable and full of surprises, I loved The Gunner Girl' Elizabeth Chadwick 'Clare Harvey is an exceptional new talent. The Gunner Girl offers a stunningly realistic vision of the WW2 era, through the intertwined lives and loves of three very different women. The story is brought to life by razor sharp dialogue, an eye for period details and a taut plot which never becomes sentimental' Kate Rhodesshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 127 x 198 x 30mm | 322g
  • Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • UK ed.
  • 1471150542
  • 9781471150548
  • 449,258

About Clare Harvey

Clare Harvey is an ex-army wife. The Gunner Girl, her debut novel, was inspired by her mother-in-law's experience during WWII and written while her husband was on active service in Afghanistan. She lives in Nottingham with her family. Find out more on facebook - facebook.com/clareharvey13 - her website www.clareharvey.net or on twitter @clareharveyauth.show more

Rating details

132 ratings
4.11 out of 5 stars
5 43% (57)
4 30% (39)
3 23% (30)
2 5% (6)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X