The Grisha: Shadow and Bone
21%
off

The Grisha: Shadow and Bone : Book 1

4.03 (213,812 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

*The Grishaverse will be coming to Netflix soon with Shadow and Bone, an original series!*

Enter the Grishaverse with book one of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by number one New York Times-bestselling author, Leigh Bardugo. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas.

Now with a stunning new cover and exclusive bonus material: The Demon in the Wood (a Darkling prequel story) and a Q&A with Leigh Bardugo.

Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold - a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed.

Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country's magical military elite - and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift.

As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation.

Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems.



Read all the books in the Grishaverse!

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy
(previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)
Shadow and Bone
Siege and Storm
Ruin and Rising

The Six of Crows Duology
Six of Crows
Crooked Kingdom

The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 27mm | 300g
  • Orion Children's Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1510105247
  • 9781510105249
  • 1,611

Review Text

Mesmerizing ... shiver-inducing, of the delicious variety. This is what fantasy is for Laini Taylor, author of DAUGHTERS OF SMOKE AND BONE NEW YORK TIMES
show more

Review quote

There is so much to love about this book... Leigh Bardugo knows her stuff. The pacing is superb, the climax is faultless, and the immaculate blend of fantasy, action and romance really did make this book 'unputdownable'. * REALM OF FICTION * Shadow and Bone is YA fantasy exactly how I like it: deep, epic and full of action and adventure. I fell in love with the story when I was only a few chapters in, and the many twists and turns that followed kept me hooked right until the end. I'm really glad I read this book and I'm even more glad that I have the sequel sat waiting for me. I have no idea where Leigh Bardugo is going with her story, but I can't wait to find out. Read this if you're a fan of fantasy - you won't be disappointed! * WONDROUS READS * When I closed the covers of this book, late at night, I drifted into a vivid dream bursting with midnight blue keftas and beautiful - but blinding - white light. Leigh Bardugo is a master storyteller, who draws you into her richly-imagined world and refuses to release you... even after you've turned the last page. Shadow and Bone has occupied my thoughts - day and night - ever since I began it * FEED ME BOOKS NOW * A New York Times bestseller, it's like The Hunger Games meets Potter meets Twilight meets Lord Of The Rings meets Game Of Thrones; basically epic magical fantasy but completely for grown-ups. * STYLIST * Mesmerizing ... shiver-inducing, of the delicious variety. This is what fantasy is for -- Laini Taylor, author of DAUGHTERS OF SMOKE AND BONE * NEW YORK TIMES *
show more

About Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo is the number one New York Times bestselling author fantasy novels and the creator of the Grishaverse. With over one million copies sold, her Grishaverse spans the Shadow and Bone trilogy, the Six of Crows duology and The Language of Thorns. She was born in Jerusalem, grew up in Los Angeles, graduated from Yale University, and has worked in advertising, journalism, and most recently, makeup and special effects. These days, she lives and writes in Hollywood, where she can occasionally be heard singing with her band.

Find her website at www.leighbardugo.com and follow her on Twitter @lbardugo.
show more

Rating details

213,812 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 36% (77,439)
4 39% (83,439)
3 19% (40,408)
2 4% (9,029)
1 2% (3,497)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X