The Green Bicycle
21%
off

The Green Bicycle

3.82 (265 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the vein of Year of the Dog and The Higher Power of Lucky, thisMiddle Eastern coming-of-age story is told with warmth, spirit, and a mischievous sense of humor Spunky eleven-year-old Wadjda lives in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia with her parents. She desperately wants a bicycle so that she can race her friend Abdullah, even though it is considered improper for girls to ride bikes. Wadjda earns money for her dream bike by selling homemade bracelets and mixtapes of banned music to her classmates. But after she's caught, she s forced to turn over a new leaf (sort of), or risk expulsion from school. Still, Wadjda keeps scheming, and with the bicycle so closely in her sights, she will stop at nothing to get what she wants. Set against the shifting social attitudes of the Middle East, The Green Bicycleexplores gender roles, conformity, and the importance of family, all with wit and irresistible heart."show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Hardback | 346 pages
  • 140 x 211 x 36mm | 476g
  • Dial Books
  • United States
  • English
  • 0525428062
  • 9780525428060
  • 2,056,310

Review quote

"A winningly told story of struggle, solidarity, and optimism." Kirkus Reviews "Wadjda is a well-executed character: despite her feisty nature, she s vulnerable and flawed, and her story will resonate with boys and girls alike." School Library Journal "Al Mansour s debut novel is a revelatory glimpse into a culture unfamiliar to many American readers." Booklist "This novel has a cinematic sense of place...accessibly written and stealthily gripping." Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Fans of feisty protagonists will love this book and root for Wadjda from beginning to end." School Library Connection This middle grade novel is based on the acclaimed film Wadjda! A slyly subversive delight. Dana Stevens, Slate.com Wadjda is something rare. The Village Voice Guaranteed to charm. Variety Lively and sly... a cultural thunderclap." NPR.org"show more

About Haifaa Al Mansour

Haifaa Al Mansour is a Saudi Arabian film director and screenwriter, and the winner of an EDA Female Focus Award. Her first feature-length film, Wadjda, won the Best International Feature Audience Award at the Los Angeles Film Festival, among other awards, and is the basis of this middle grade novel. Her next film, A Storm in the Stars starring Elle Fanning, is set to release in 2016. The Green Bicycleis her debut novel."show more

Rating details

265 ratings
3.82 out of 5 stars
5 25% (65)
4 43% (113)
3 25% (67)
2 6% (15)
1 2% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X