Great Ashes Battles

Great Ashes Battles

  • Hardback
By (author)  , By (author) 

List price: US$24.67

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


The Greatest Ashes Battles celebrates 17 of the most gripping Test matches played in the 138 years of Anglo-Australian cricket rivalry, spanning the period from the inaugural Test at Melbourne in 1877 to England's astonishing victory at Edgbaston in 2015. These great Tests have been selected to achieve a balance in period, place and outcome; all characterized by fluctuating fortunes, epic performances, close finishes and absorbing sub-plots on and off the field. The structure of the book is chronological, and the matches are set within the context of Anglo-Australian Test cricket history. In addition to providing incisive match reports and full match scorecards, the book discusses all the crucial issues such as national versus regional loyalties in both countries, professionalism and amateurism, player dissent, cronyism, selection and captaincy debates, uncovered pitches, slow over rates and intimidatory bowling.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 141 x 222mm
  • Andre Deutsch Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 40 b&w illustrations & photographs
  • 0233001816
  • 9780233001814

About Bernard Whimpress

Bernard Whimpress is an historian and curator of the Adelaide Oval Museum. He has published and edited the Australian cricket journal Baggy Green since 1998 and lives in South Australia. The late Nigel Hart was a university administrator and lecturer in communications.
show more

Table of contents

Melbourne 1877: A Combination Match; * Sydney 1894: "Cruel Luck! Cruel Luck"; * Manchester 1902: Tragic Heroes; * Adelaide 1929: The Balance of the Years; * Leeds 1938: Dark Victory; * Sydney 1954: The Typhoon of Change; * Lord's 1961: William the Conqueror; * Sydney 1971: Playing it by the Book; * Melbourne 1977: Centenary Test; * Leeds 1981: 500:1 to 6:4; * Nottingham 1993: An Honourable Draw; * Edgbaston 2005: Living the Dream; * Trent Bridge 2005: Thinking the Unthinkable.
show more