The Gray Ghost Murders

The Gray Ghost Murders

3.95 (546 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


Cold Hearted River, the sixth in the series, is now available. "Truly wonderful. . . . A mystery that unfolds with grace and humor against a setting of stunning beauty and danger." --Nevada Barr, New York Times bestselling author of the Anna Pigeon Mysteries The Gray Ghost Murders is the second novel in the acclaimed Sean Stranahan mystery series Fourteen months after moving to Montana, fly fisherman, painter, and sometime private detective Sean Stranahan is still sleeping in his office-cum-art-studio, but he's no longer a newcomer. He now knows the rivers and has a new sweetheart, Martinique. And when the bear-ravaged remains of two men are found on Sphinx Mountain, Sheriff Martha Ettinger once more turns to Stranahan for help in solving what smells like murder. Meanwhile, he's also been hired by a group of eccentric fishermen to find their valuable, and possibly stolen, Gray Ghost fly. Could the theft be connected to the gray ghosts haunting the mountain? To find out, Stranahan will cross paths, and arms, with some of the most powerful people in the Madison Valley.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 306 pages
  • 134 x 202 x 20mm | 260g
  • Penguin Books
  • United States
  • English
  • 0143124382
  • 9780143124382
  • 832,390

Review quote

This is a truly wonderful read. In an old and crowded field, Keith has created characters fresh, quirky and yet utterly believable, then stirred them into a mystery that unfolds with grace and humor against a setting of stunning beauty and danger. Stranahan, the fisherman sleuth, breaks free of the old cliche's and delights with his humanity, vulnerability and love of cats. Yes, cats. Keith has written a book that speaks to women and men regardless of color or background. The only downside of this book is that we must wait a year for the next one. Nevada Barr, New York Times bestselling author of the Anna Pigeon Mysteries

McCafferty skillfully weaves Big Sky color, humor, and even romance (in the form of Sean s stunning new girlfriend, Martinique, who s bankrolling veterinary school by working as a bikini barista) into the suspenseful plot as it gallops toward a white-knuckle climax. Publishers Weekly

Think big-city CSI teams have it tough? Their examinations of crime scenes are hardly ever interrupted by a grizzly bear like the one that sends Deputy Harold Little Feather to the hospital Irresistible. Kirkus Reviews

Populated by well-drawn characters This series will appeal to fans of Nevada Barr and C.J. Box as well as to fly-fishing devotees. Booklist
You ll find yourself obsessed with the story.

Praise for The Royal Wulff Murders by Keith McCafferty

Sportsmen will find the one-of-a-kind novel captivating, intelligent, and at times uproarious. Field & Stream

"Keith McCafferty has pulled off a small miracle with The Royal Wulff Murders a compelling Montana-based novel that will please both mystery readers and discerning fly-fishers. A terrific debut that rings with authenticity and style." C. J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Back of Beyond and Force of Nature

An impressive debut the people here are all solid creations, sometimes prickly but always engaging, characters readers will be more than happy to see again. The Houston Chronicle

Keith McCafferty hits a bull's eye with Sean's story in his debut novel, The Royal Wulff Murders like bacon and brownies--Stranahan's odd mix of painter, P.I. and fly fisherworks. It helps that McCafferty, an editor atField & Stream, really knows his trout, and life in Bozeman has obviously acquainted him with the ways of Montana. He writes with both a love of nature common in the outdoorsman. Add the backwoodsy feminism of Sheriff Martha Ettinger, and the mystery is a good fit for enthusiasts of Nevada Barr who have read through all the Anna Pigeon novels. Packed with wilderness action and starring a band of stalwart individualists, The Royal Wulff Murderswill have readers begging McCafferty for more. Tom Lavoie, for Readers

[A] thoroughly entertaining debut McCafferty blends plenty of fly-fishing lore with a host of intriguing characters Only the sharp-eyed observation of the medical examiner suggests the body was a murder victim rather than an accidental drowning. The eventual identification of the victim helps link Stranahan s task to that of the sheriff. The vivid Montana setting is a plus. Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Blue Ribbon is what they call a trout stream of extremely high quality and that s what I call Keith McCafferty s The Royal Wulff Murders the debut of a frighteningly knowledgeable and wonderfully entertaining series. Craig Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and Hell is Empty

The descriptive scenery writing is good, and the places he writes about are a pleasure for the armchair traveler to visit The main characters are all likable except, of course, the bad guys. San Diego Union-Tribune

"What a fine and thoroughly satisfying debut novel!There s so much to enjoy here a fresh sense of place, a cast of compelling characters, and a plot line with as many twists and turns as a Montana trout stream.Even if you know nothing about fly fishing, you re going to love this book.Mark my words: From this day forward, you ll be buying everything Keith McCafferty writes." William Kent Krueger, author of Northwest Angle and Iron Lake

What fun it is to visit my favorite fishing spots, not in a guide-boat but in a wonderful murder mystery. Henry Winkler, author of I ve Never Met an Idiot on the River

The Royal Wulff Murders hit all my buttons: mystery, flyfishing, Montana, the Madison River, beautiful women, and whole pickup loads of authentic Montana characters, many of them wonderfully quirky. Keith McCafferty is one terrific writer. Patrick F. McManus, author of The Bear In the Attic and The Huckleberry Murders

Two chapters in and you know you are in for an interesting read Each scene is set up with a fisherman s patience, with the wind, water and wildlife of Montana becoming as important as the human characters we follow The Royal Wulff Murders should be on any outdoorsman s reading list. Suspense Magazine

"Keith McCafferty's The Royal Wulff Murders is the mystery fly anglers have been waiting for. Finally, an author who knows the crucial difference between 2X and 4X tippet! But it's not just the fishing details that make this novel so enjoyable: it's the rich characters, the robust sense of humor, a sadly topical plot, and a writing style that is as gin-clear as a Montana trout stream." Paul Doiron, author of Trespasser and The Poacher s Son

show more

About Keith McCafferty

Keith McCafferty is the survival and outdoor skills editor of Field & Stream, and the author of The Royal Wulff Murders, Dead Man's Fancy, and Crazy Mountain Kiss, which won the 2016 Spur Award for Best Western Contemporary Novel. Winner of the Traver Award for angling literature, he is a two-time National Magazine awards finalist. He lives with his wife in Bozeman, Montana. Keith encourages you to visit him at
show more

Rating details

546 ratings
3.95 out of 5 stars
5 24% (133)
4 50% (275)
3 22% (119)
2 3% (17)
1 0% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X