The Grand Sophy
16%
off

The Grand Sophy

4.15 (18,015 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A New York Times Bestseller! "Sophy grabs you and takes you on a ride you don't want to end. With fabulous characters, zany laugh-out-loud moments, and the need to see just what she will come up with next."-Nelaine, Amazon.com Reviewer When Sir Horace Stanton-Lacy is ordered to South America on Diplomatic Business he parks his only daughter, Sophy, with his sister in Berkeley Square. Forward, bold, and out-spoken, Sophy sweeps in and immediately takes ton by storm. Upon her arrival, Sophy can see that her cousins are in a sad tangle: Ceclia is in love with a poet, Charles is engaged to a dour bluestocking, her uncle is of no use at all, and the younger children are in desperate need of some fun and freedom. They all need her help and it's providential that Sophy arrives when she does. Utterly hilarious and completely endearing, The Grand Sophy is a fan favorite from The Queen of Regency Romance. Fans of Jane Austen, Julia Quinn, and Eloisa James will be delighted by Sophy, the outrageous lengths she goes to solve everyone else's problems, and the surprises in store for everyone! What reviewers are saying about The Grand Sophy"The Grand Sophy was an exciting, charming read. The characters grab you and don't let go." -Anna's Book Blog "Fun, engaging and hilarious, I cannot recommend it more highly. Sophy is a devilishly fine girl." - AustenProse "The Grand Sophy is a very entertaining Regency romance with wonderfully eccentric characters and a very humorous plot."-Once Upon a Romanceshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 372 pages
  • 134.62 x 200.66 x 30.48mm | 476.27g
  • Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 140221894X
  • 9781402218941
  • 169,122

Review quote

"The Grand Sophy is a very entertaining Regency romance with wonderfully eccentric characters and a very humorous plot." - Once Upon a Romanceshow more

About Georgette Heyer

The late Georgette Heyer was a very private woman. Her historical novels have charmed and delighted millions of readers for decades, though she rarely reached out to the public to discuss her works or private life. It is known that she was born in Wimbledon in August 1902, and her first novel, The Black Moth, was published in 1921. Heyer published 56 books over the next 53 years, until her death from lung cancer in 1974. Heyer's large volume of works included Regency romances, mysteries and historical fiction. Known also as the Queen of Regency romance, Heyer was legendary for her research, historical accuracy and her extraordinary plots and characterizations. Her last book, My Lord John, was published posthumously in 1975. She was married to George Ronald Rougier, a mining engineer, and they had one son together, Richard.show more

Flap copy

When Sophy goes to stay with her cousins in Berkeley Square, she finds them in a sad tangle of affairs - some romantic and others of a more pecuniary nature. Perhaps the Grand Sophy has arrived just in time to save them.show more

Rating details

18,015 ratings
4.15 out of 5 stars
5 41% (7,392)
4 39% (6,995)
3 16% (2,903)
2 3% (534)
1 1% (191)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X