Government by the People

Government by the People : National Edition, 2001-2002 and Cw Acc Card

3.48 (37 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$90.41

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


KEY BENFIT: This comprehensive, classic book takes readers from on-lookers to participants. Government by the People lets them see democracy as the participatory government that it is. Covers 2000 Presidential Election, constitutional democracy, political culture and ideology, campaigns and elections, the Presidency, the judiciary, and much more. Explains how Congress and the President work together. For anyone interested in American more

Product details

  • Mixed media product | 566 pages
  • 215.9 x 279.4 x 25.4mm | 1,519.53g
  • Pearson Education Limited
  • Prentice-Hall
  • Harlow, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 19th edition
  • 0130743194
  • 9780130743190

Table of contents

1. Constitutional Democracy. 2. The Living Constitution. 3. American Federalism. 4. Political Culture and Ideology. 5. The American Political Landscape. 6. Interest Groups: The Politics of Influence. 7. Political Parties: Essential to Democracy. 8. Public Opinion, Participation, and Voting. 9. Campaigns and Elections: Democracy in Action. 10. The Media and American Politics. 11. Congress: The People's Branch. 12. The Presidency: The Leadership Branch. 13. Congressional-Presidential Relations. 14. The Judiciary: The Balancing Branch. 15. The Bureaucracy: The Real Power? 16. First Amendment Freedoms. 17. Rights to Life, Liberty, and Property. 18. Equal Rights Under the Law. 19. Making Economic and Regulatory Policy. 20. Making Social Policy. 21. Making Foreign and Defense Policy. 22. State and Local Politics: Who Governs? 23. State Constitutions: Charters or Straitjackets? 24. Parties and Elections in the States. 25. State Legislatures. 26. State Governors. 27. Judges and Justice in the States. 28. Local Government and Metropolitics. 29. Making State and Local Policy. 30. Staffing and Financing State and Local Governments. 31. The Democratic more

About James MacGregor Burns

James MacGregor Burns is a Senior Scholar at the Academy of Leadership, University of Maryland, College Park, and Woodrow Wilson Professor Emeritus of Government at Williams College. He has written numerous books, including The Power to Lead (1984), The Vineyard of Liberty (1982), Leadership (1979), Roosevelt: The Soldier of Freedom (1970), The Deadlock of Democracy: Four-Party Politics in America (1963), and Roosevelt: The Lion and the Fox (1956). With his son, Stewart Burns, he wrote A People's Charter: The Pursuit of Rights in America (1991); with Georgia Sorenson, Dead Center. Clinton, Gore, and the Perils of Moderation (2000); and with Susan Dunn, The Three Roosevelts (2001). Burns is a past president of the American Political Science Association and winner of numerous prizes, including a Pulitzer Prize in History. J.W. Peltason is a leading scholar on the judicial process and public law. He is Professor Emeritus of Political Science at the University of California, Irvine. As past president of the American Council on Education, Peltason has represented higher education before Congress and state legislatures. His writings include Federal Courts in the Political Process (1955), Fifty-Eight Lonely Men: Southern Federal Judges and School Desegration (1961), and with Sue Davis, Understanding the Constitution (2000). Among his awards are the James Madison Medal from Princeton University, the Irvine Medal from the University of California, Irvine, and the American Political Science Association's Charles E. Merriam Award. Thomas E. Cronin is a leading student of the American presidency, leadership, and policy-making processes. He teaches at and serves as president of Whitman College. He was a White House Fellow and a White House aide and has served as president of the Western Political Science Association. His writings include The State of the Presidency (1980), U.S. v. Crime in the Streets (1981), Direct Democracy: The Politics of Initiative, Referendum, and Recall (1989), Colorado Politics and Government (1993), and The Paradoxes of the American Presidency (1998). Cronin is a past recipient of the American Political Science Association's Charles E. Merriam Award. David B. Magleby is nationally recognized for his expertise on direct democracy, voting behavior, and campaign finance. He is Professor of Political Science at Brigham Young University and has taught at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and the University of Virginia. His writings include Direct Legislation (1984), The Money Chase: Congressional Campaign Finance Reform (1990), Myth of the Independent Voter (1992), and editor of Outside Money: Soft Money and Issue Advocacy in the 1998 Congressional Elections (2000). He was president of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honor society, and has received numerous teaching awards. In 1996 he was a Fulbright Scholar at Nuffield College, Oxford University. David M. O'Brien is the Leone Reaves and George W Spicer Professor at the University of Virginia. He was a Judicial Fellow and Research Associate at the Supreme Court of the United States, a Fulbright Lecturer at Oxford University, held the Fulbright Chair for Senior Scholars at the University of Bologna, and a Fulbright Researcher in Japan, as well as a Visiting Fellow at the Russell Sage Foundation. Among his publications are Storm Center: The Supreme Court in American Politics, 5th ed., (2000); a two volume casebook, Constitutional Law and Politics, 4th ed., (2000); an annual Supreme Court Watch; and To Dream of Dreams: Religious Freedom in Postwar Japan (1996). He received the American Bar Association's Silver Gavel Award for contributing to the pubshow more

Rating details

37 ratings
3.48 out of 5 stars
5 22% (8)
4 24% (9)
3 41% (15)
2 8% (3)
1 5% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X