Goose Chase

Goose Chase

3.73 (4,847 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 10 business days
When will my order arrive?


Her name is Alexandria Aurora Fortunato, and she is as lovely as the dawn. But that is only the beginning of her problems. Goose Chase is for fans of Shannon Hales's The Goose Girl and Princess Academy.
It starts when Alexandria, an orphaned goose girl, offers some of her precious bread and water to a hungry old woman. The woman just happens to be a witch in disguise, and poof! Alexandria is suddenly heartstoppingly beautiful. When she brushes her hair, gold dust showers to the ground, and her tears turn to diamonds. Now that she s so beautiful and wealthy, King Claudio the Cruel and Prince Edmund of Dorloo are fighting for her hand, and have locked her in a tower to keep her safe. How Alexandria wishes she were a poor, plain goose girl again! Clearly she has to escape and, with the aid of her twelve geese, that s precisely what she does. Which is when her problems really begin . . .
A delightful, witty fairy-tale spoof . . . Kindl s humor, the strong characterizations, and vibrant action give the story wings. Booklist, starred review"
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 224 pages
  • 104.14 x 170.18 x 15.24mm | 136.08g
  • Puffin Books
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0142302082
  • 9780142302088
  • 1,071,126

About Patrice Kindl

Patrice Kindl's first novel, Owl in Love, was an ALA Notable Book for Children, an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, and an SCBWI Golden Kite Award Honor Book. She lives in Middleburgh, New York.
show more

Rating details

4,847 ratings
3.73 out of 5 stars
5 27% (1,327)
4 32% (1,569)
3 30% (1,440)
2 8% (385)
1 3% (126)

Our customer reviews

Many would think Alexandria Aurora Fortunato to be blessed. She is not only extraordinarily beautiful, but gold pours from her hair and diamonds fall in place of her tears. However, truthfully, she has been cursed with these gifts ever since an old hag showed up at Alexandria\'s humble cottage and begged for a bite to eat. As a reward for Alexandria\'s kindness, a spell was cast--and Alexandria\'s life changed forever. No longer a simple goose girl, Alexandria is kept locked in a tower where she is forced to sew every last stitch on her gold wedding gown. When the last stitch is finished, she will be forced to marry either King Claudio the Cruel or the dim-witted Prince Edmund from the neighboring country. Both want her only for her wealth, and Alexandria knows she must find a chance to escape. Luck is on the way, and she manages to run away with the help of her flock of enchanted geese. Now her real adventures are set to begin! Along the way, she and her goose friends have magical adventures involving hungry ogresses, a bumbling prince, dark dungeons, and a special set of royal jewels. Add in a sprinkling of romance and you get a good fantasy novel with a fairytale spin that every girl can enjoy! The character, Alexandria, is strong, witty, brave, and a perfect heroine for this awesome novel. An exciting and twisting plot will keep readers entertained for hours, but will there be a happy ending? Read the book to find out more!show more
by TeensReadToo
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X