A Celebration of the Seasons: Goodnight Songs

A Celebration of the Seasons: Goodnight Songs : Illustrated by Twelve Award-Winning Picture Book Artists

3.71 (7 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


Fluffy clouds, butterflies, furry bunnies, and life from a bug's-eye view: This stunning sequel to the New York Times bestseller Goodnight Songs (9781454904465) celebrates the beauty and wonder of nature all year long. Once again, a treasure trove of Margaret Wise Brown's newly uncovered verses receives loving treatment from 12 award-winning artists, including Floyd Cooper, Peter Brown, David Small, Molly Idle, and Bob Staake. From a little bear singing one morning in May to a soft snowfall, mysterious, deep, and glowing, each song is magical.show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Mixed media product | 36 pages
  • 254 x 254 x 2mm | 788g
  • Sterling Publishing Co Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • full colour illustrations
  • 145490447X
  • 9781454904472
  • 898,551

About Margaret Wise Brown

Margaret Wise Brown is one of the most popular children's authors of all time; her classic Goodnight Moon (HarperFestival), illustrated by Clement Hurd, has sold more than 24 million copies and her books - including Big Red Barn (Harper Festival), The Runaway Bunny (HarperCollins), and The Golden Egg Book (Simon & Schuster)-have been in print for over 50 years. Several generations have grown up with her timeless stories and her influence has been felt around the world.show more

Review quote

A multimedia tribute to the great picture-book writer in her own words. This sumptuous compilation not only brings together a dozen songs by the late author of "Goodnight Moon," here given new visual life in evocative spreads by 12 award-winning illustrators, but also includes a CD of Brown's lyrics set to music and performed by Tom Proutt and Emily Gary. As a whole, these nature-based songs look to animals and the seasons to remind children of the pleasures of the outdoors. Illustrators Peter Brown, Floyd Cooper, Blanca Gomez, Satoe Tone, and eight others capture the essence of bees and birds in flight, leaves adrift on the wind, or light, imagined situations like a kitten's dream or a cat the size of a pussy willow. Musically, a number of the songs, such as the magical "Snowfall," have a soft, lilting quality sure to help young listeners off to dreamland, while a couple of the more memorable settings might have the opposite effect. The sharp baritone-sax honks of Buzz, Buzz, Buzz graphically emulate bees at work in the solemn heat, for instance. While the collection is no doubt titled to evoke its author's most renowned work, overall these songs prove anything but drowsy. A treat for the eye, ear, and heart. "Kirkus Reviews" (STARRED review)'' Following 2014 s Goodnight Songs (Sterling), this second volume of previously unpublished poems and songs by the legendary Margaret Wise Brown is just as enchanting and handsomely produced as the first. Twelve poems about the seasons are brought to life through art and music. Heavy hitters like David Small, Peter Brown, Molly Idle, Frank Viva, and Bob Staake join up-and-coming illustrators from around the globe such as Leo Espinoza, Dadu Shin, and Blanca Gomez. The book opens with To a Child, the soothingly surreal invitation to run away/To a long unscheduled day, paired with Floyd Cooper s dreamy oil wash on board illustrations. Subsequent poems inspire young readers to notice the natural world around them and appreciate the wondrous activity inspired by the changing seasons. There s much whimsy to be found: in The Song of the Tiny Cat, readers hear the tale of a jaunty feline no bigger than a puzzy willow; in Bunny Jig, David Small s energetic line and pitch-perfect visual timing elevates the humor of this toe-tapping ditty; and Molly Idle s clever interpretation of Brown s Advice to Bunnies is as chuckle-worthy as it is charming. Along with the playfulness and joy, Brown s verses also offer young listeners opportunities to reflect on the melancholia of change. In Cherry Tree, Elly MacKay s red-suited little girl makes a snow angel while lamenting that her dear tree/Where the cherries were red/Is frozen and gray, /The birds are all fled. Parents with a young child on their lap are sure to be moved by Love Song of the Little Bear, and the repeated refrain which goes It s a long time that I ve loved you. Never, never go away. As in the first book, an included CD features Tom Proutt and Emily Gary s musical renditions of each of Brown s songs. Their lilting folk harmonies, country- and jazz-infused rhythms, accompanied on various tracks by mandolin, accordion, tympani, bass clarinet, and harmonica, elevate the verses and offer listeners a more complete sensory experience. VERDICT Whether read or sung aloud, this essential collection is made to be shared and no doubt will be, again and again. "School Library Journal""show more

Rating details

7 ratings
3.71 out of 5 stars
5 14% (1)
4 43% (3)
3 43% (3)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X