Goodbye Days
20%
off

Goodbye Days

4.32 (1,653 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Gorgeous, heartbreaking, and ultimately life-affirming." --Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything. Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, Looking for Alaska, and Zentner's own The Serpent King, one of the most highly acclaimed YA novels of 2016, Goodbye Days asks what you would do if you could spend one last day with someone you lost. Where are you guys? Text me back. That's the last message Carver Briggs will ever send his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. He never thought that it would lead to their death. Now Carver can't stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, a powerful judge is pressuring the district attorney to open up a criminal investigation. Luckily, Carver has some unexpected allies: Eli's girlfriend, the only person to stand by him at school; Dr. Mendez, his new therapist; and Blake's grandmother, who asks Carver to spend a "goodbye day" together to share their memories and say a proper farewell. Soon the other families are asking for their own goodbye day with Carver--but he's unsure of their motives. Will they all be able to make peace with their losses, or will these goodbye days bring Carver one step closer to a complete breakdown or--even worse--prison? "Jeff Zentner, you perfectly fill the John-Green-sized hole in our heart." "Evocative, heartbreaking, and beautifully written." --Buzzfeed "Masterful." --TeenVogue.com "Hold on to your heart: this book will wreck you, fix you, and most definitely change you." --Becky Albertalli, Morris Award-winning author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agendashow more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 404 pages
  • 145 x 211 x 41mm | 499g
  • Crown Books for Young Readers
  • United States
  • English
  • 0553524062
  • 9780553524062
  • 266,444

About Jeff Zentner

Jeff Zentner is the acclaimed author of The Serpent King. In addition to writing, he is also a singer-songwriter and guitarist who has recorded with Iggy Pop, Nick Cave, and Debbie Harry. Goodbye Days is his love letter to the city of Nashville and the talented people who populate it. He lives in Nashville with his wife and son. You can follow him on Facebook, on Instagram, and on Twitter at @jeffzentner.show more

Review quote

An Indie Next List Selection -Zentner does an excellent job in creating empathetic characters, especially his protagonist Carver, a budding writer whose first-person account of his plight is artful evidence of his talent.---Booklist, Starred -Racial tensions, spoiled reputations, and broken homes all play roles in an often raw meditation on grief and the futility of entertaining what-ifs when faced with awful, irreversible events.---Publishers Weekly, Starred -[E]xquisite and tragic.- -Shelf Awareness, Starred -[A] novel full of wisdom.- --Kirkus -[The] kind of intelligent, intense, and life-affirming tale that will resonate with teens seeking depth and honesty.- --SLJ -An organic, frequently raw narrative.- -Horn Book Praise for Jeff Zentner's The Serpent King A New York Times Notable Book An Amazon Best Book of the Year A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year A BuzzFeed Best YA Book of the Year A William C. Morris Award Finalist An Indie Next List Top Ten Selection A Paste Magazine and popcrush.com Most Anticipated YA Book of the Year A Publishers Weekly Spring 2016 Flying Start -Move over, John Green; Zentner is coming for you.- --The New York Public Library -Will fill the infinite space that was left in your chest after you finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower.- --BookRiot.com -A story about friendship, family and forgiveness, it's as funny and witty as it is utterly heartbreaking.- --PasteMagazine.com -A brutally honest portrayal of teen life . . . [and] a love letter to the South from a man who really understands it.- --Mashable.com -Zentner's great achievement -- particularly impressive for a first novel -- is to make us believe three such different people could be friends. He also manages to blend a dank, oppressive, Flannery O'Connor-esque sense of place with humor and optimism .... I adored all three of these characters and the way they talked to and loved one another.- --New York Times Book Review -Characters, incidents, dialogue, the poverty of the rural South, enduring friendship, a desperate clinging to strange faiths, fear of the unknown, and an awareness of the courage it takes to survive, let alone thrive, are among this fine novel's strengths. Zentner writes with understanding and grace--a new voice to savor.- --Kirkus Reviews, Starred -[T]his sepia-toned portrait of small-town life serves as a moving testament to love, loyalty, faith, and reaching through the darkness to find light and hope.- --Publishers Weekly, Starred -Pens would run dry if readers were to underline extraordinary sentences--the kind that are so true, or funny, or beautiful that they clamp hearts. . . . [An] extraordinary YA debut.- --Shelf Awareness, Starred -The third-person narration manages to convey distinct flavor for each deeply personal and introspective storyline, so each character emerges as an authentic individual, flawed yet lovable, and readers will find themselves drawn by the heartstrings into their complex lives.- --The Bulletin, Starred -Thorough characterization and artful prose allow readers to intimately experience the highs and lows of these three friends .... Recommended for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.- --School Library Journalshow more

Rating details

1,653 ratings
4.32 out of 5 stars
5 51% (837)
4 34% (568)
3 12% (200)
2 2% (37)
1 1% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X