The Good Life

The Good Life

3.41 (2,593 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback
By (author) 

List price: US$8.22

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Ten years on from "Brightness Falls", Russell Calloway is still a literary editor although in a diminished capacity; his wife, Corrine, has sacrificed her career to watch anxiously over their children. Across town, Luke McGavock, a wealthy ex-investment banker, is taking a sabbatical from making money, struggling to reconnect with his socially resplendent wife, Sasha, and their angst-ridden teenage daughter, Ashley. These two Manhattan families are teetering on the brink of change when 9/11 happens. "The Good Life" explores through the lens of catastrophe that territory between hope and despair, between love and loss, between regret and fulfilment. But ultimately this is Jay McInerney doing what he does best, presenting us with the life of New York City in all its deeply personal and moral more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 111 x 178mm
  • Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • London, United Kingdom
  • Export and UK open market ed
  • 0747588759
  • 9780747588757
  • 1,785,579

Review quote

'This story is a simple one, but McInerney delivers it with grace and wit. He does what a good novelist should: he takes an abstract idea and gives it life' Alain de Botton 'The subject of The Good Life is the cataclysm of 9/11, and McInerney lays claim to it with the authority and conviction of a native master McInerney here joins a small number of dissident novelists, headed by Norman Mailer, who change the way we look at American history' Sunday Telegraph 'While those who read and fell in love with Brightness Falls all those years ago will devour The Good Life with relish, this is something which will appeal to those who have never read him before' Irish Independent 'Moving, thoughtful and altogether surprising in its portrayal of passion thwarted by circumstance, of all the 9/11 books this is possibly the only one that will pass the test of time' Arenashow more

About Jay McInerney

Jay McInerney is the author of the novels, Bright Lights, Big City, Ransom, Story of My Life, Brightness Falls, The Last of the Savages and Model Behaviour, as well as one story collection How It Ended. He lives in New York and more

Rating details

2,593 ratings
3.41 out of 5 stars
5 14% (371)
4 33% (855)
3 36% (929)
2 13% (344)
1 4% (94)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X