Goldilocks
18%
off

Goldilocks

4.02 (277 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A gripping science fiction thriller where five women task themselves with ensuring the survival of the human race; perfect for readers of The Martian, The Power, and Station Eleven.
Despite increasing restrictions on the freedoms of women on Earth, Valerie Black is spearheading the first all-female mission to a planet in the Goldilocks Zone, where conditions are just right for human habitation.
It's humanity's last hope for survival, and Naomi, Valerie's surrogate daughter and the ship's botanist, has been waiting her whole life for an opportunity like this - to step out of Valerie's shadow and really make a difference.
But when things start going wrong on the ship, Naomi begins to suspect that someone on board is concealing a terrible secret - and realizes time for life on Earth may be running out faster than they feared . . .
Goldilocks is The Handmaid's Tale meets The Martian - a bold and thought-provoking new high-concept thriller.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 352 pages
  • 150 x 220 x 37mm | 458g
  • English
  • 0316462861
  • 9780316462860
  • 885,041

Review quote

"Through the novel's fascinating premise Lam gives us plenty of food for thought about gender dynamics in our own world."--USA Today
show more

About Laura Lam

Originally from sunny California, Laura Lam now lives in cloudy Scotland. She is the author of the near-future space thriller, Goldilocks, feminist space opera Seven Devils (co-written with Elizabeth May), BBC Radio 2 Book Club section False Hearts, the companion novel Shattered Minds, and the award-winning Micah Grey series: Pantomime, Shadowplay, and Masquerade. Her short fiction and essays have appeared in anthologies such as Nasty Women, Solaris Rising 3, Cranky Ladies of History, Scotland in Space, and more. She lectures part-time at Edinburgh Napier University on the Creative Writing MA.
show more

Rating details

277 ratings
4.02 out of 5 stars
5 34% (94)
4 41% (114)
3 20% (56)
2 3% (9)
1 1% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X