The Golden Transcendence

The Golden Transcendence

4.13 (1,419 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$7.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

The conclusion of the grand space opera begun in The Golden Age and The Phoenix Exultant is a story in the tradition of Jack Vance and Roger Zelanzy (with a touch of Cordwainer Smith). It is an astounding story of super science, a thrilling wonder story that recaptures the verve of Science Fiction's golden age writers. Violating the sanctions against him, Phaeton has travelled across the solar system to recover both his memory and the marvellous Phoenix Exultant, the first true star ship. Should the minds of Earth break out of the safe confines of the solar system and reach for the stars? So Phaeton argues at his trial, but a new enemy would deny them either choice, unless he can stop them.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 104 x 168 x 34mm | 199.58g
  • St Martin's Press
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 0765349086
  • 9780765349088
  • 1,269,426

Review quote

"A movie based on Wright's modernized space opera could easily appeal to fans of The Matrix.... Such a film would, however, lack the grand polysyllabism that sets the tone of this volume and its predecessors ... language both deeply literary and deeply essential."--"Publishers Weekly" "Set forth with such effortless intelligence and confident verisimilitude that the author might be a denizen of the remote future, reporting back to us in the distant past."--"Kirkus Reviews"
show more

About John C. Wright

John C. Wright, a journalist and a lawyer turned SF and fantasy writer, lives with his wife and son in Centreville, Virginia.
show more

Rating details

1,419 ratings
4.13 out of 5 stars
5 43% (607)
4 35% (497)
3 17% (236)
2 4% (52)
1 2% (27)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X